Allison's Book Bag

Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born by Jamie Lee Curtis

Posted on: September 28, 2012

Cover of "Tell Me Again About the Night I...

Cover via Amazon

Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born by Jamie Lee Curtis is both adorable and informative. Curtis uses the repetitive phrase “Tell me again about….” to both narrate a story and explain how adoption works. She also sprinkles her short tale with lots of humor. I love the full-page whimsical, soft pastel illustrations. What a delightful book!

Turning first to the story, Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born starts out with a young girl asking her parents to “Tell me again about….” Everyone who has ever encountered a child who loves having their favorite story repeated over and over will relate to the experience. Any child who must have their beloved tale retold night after night will also connect. Immediately, this atmosphere invokes a cozy feeling. I smiled all the way though reading this book.

What I like most though about Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born is how it shares the experiences not only of the adopted child but also of the adopted parents. Readers learn how it feels when parents first receive THE call with news of their newborn child and how arriving at the hospital feels: “Tell me again how you held hands all the way to the hospital and when you got there you both got very quiet and felt very small.” There isn’t a reference book around that so perfectly captures that moment. Readers also learn how it feels for adoptive parents to first see their child, hold their child, and carry their child home. Unlike in some books on adoption, the father is included too. He introduces his adopted to baseball. After reading several reference books about all the challenges of adopting a child, which are honestly somewhat discouraging, Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born greatly elevated my spirit.

English: Actress Jamie Lee Curtis autographs h...

English: Actress Jamie Lee Curtis autographs her books for children. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As for the adopted child, her feelings are also recognized. We learn that her adoptive mom “couldn’t grow a baby” in her tummy and so another woman “who was too young to take care of me was growing me”. The adopted daughter appreciated hearing how perfect she was, from head to toes. These are two of my favorite lines: “Tell me again about my first bottle and how I liked it so much. Tell me again about my first diaper change and how I didn’t like it at all.”

Jamie Lee Curtis has taken her experience of adopting two children and written a sensitive tale about what adoption feels like to parents but made it accessible to everyone including young readers. For parents everywhere, and children everywhere, Tell Me Again About the Night I was Born is a must-read book.

My rating? Bag it: Carry it with you. Make it a top priority to read.

How would you rate this book?

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017: Focus on Cats!

All things cats ahead! I will post roundups of cat training books, cat Trap-Neuter-Release books, cat coloring books, and cat cozies. For all other animal lovers, I will also post roundups of dog cozies and zoo books.

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

