Allison's Book Bag

Musings Meme: Current Reads #5

Posted on: May 20, 2013

MusingMondaysWhat are you reading right now?
What do you think of it?
Why did you chose it?

Back in 2005, I traveled to Manitoba so that I could obtain my student visa. While there, I had the opportunity to visit the Gabrielle Roy house and of course purchase some of her books. Earlier this month, I started rereading one of them: Street of Riches, which won the Canada’s Governor General’s Award in 1957.

English: Gabrielle Roy, 1945.

Gabrielle Roy, 1945. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The eighteen stories in the autobiographical Street of Riches center upon the bittersweet experiences of a young girl growing up in the francophone community of St. Boniface, Manitoba. A few of my favorites include:

My Pink Hat is about how main character Christine is set to her aunt’s place to recover from jaundice. While there, she runs away because she’s tired of being cooped inside and ends up making friends with an elderly couple. Her aunt finds only because of that pink hat.

In A Bit of Yellow Ribbon, Christine covets everything that her sister owns. Most tantalizing though is a bit of yellow ribbon which sticks out from an ill-closed drawer. When her sister decides to become a nun, Christine is torn between saying farewell and asking for that darn ribbon.

My Whooping Cough is a more serious tale. It’s about time lost, about playing dead, and it’s about surviving to find happiness again. “Was all this lost time? Then why is it that the time of futile questions, of minute problems probed to no effect, is the time that recurs to the soul as the time it used the best?”

Not all the stories focus on Christine. In The Gadabouts, her mom tires of life at home. She takes off with Christine to explore Canada. In the heartbreaking The Well of Dunrae, her dad tries to help a colony of White Russians. In the end, he risks his life in an attempt to save their land, homes, and land from a wildfire.

At this point, I’m about halfway through Street of Riches, which traces the growth and development of Christine into an accomplished writer. Although short stories aren’t my normal reading fare, I’m anxious to find time to finish this collection and to read other books by Gabrielle Roy.

What is your current read?

3 Responses to "Musings Meme: Current Reads #5"

This book sounds fascinating. I’m not familiar with Gabrielle Roy, shame on me I guess. One of the things I love about reading book blogs is that I hear about authors I’m not familiar with. I just finished Jasper Fforde’s The Well of Lost Plots, last night. I didn’t enjoy it as much as the previous two in the series. I’ll be starting Lisa Scottoline’s Lady Killer today. I read a VERY strange combination of books, but I enjoy them. Have a great day, Allison!!

Gabrielle Roy is a Canadian author and one of my hopes as a blogger is to introduce readers to books from other countries. My first priority is Canadian authors, because this is my nationality. 🙂

You mentioned reading an odd assortment of books. Atlantic Wire has a fun diagnostic guide on reader types: What Kind of Book Reader Are You?

Here were my results:Musings Meme

You have a good day too!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

