Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Beauty In The Journey

Posted on: July 5, 2013

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. This week, I’m posting photos from a nature hike in Newfoundland, Canada. (By the way, the proper pronunciation of the province is “newfinLAND”, not “newFOUNDland”.)

Beauty is in the journey not in the destination.

As my husband and I trekked the two kilometers up the Lookout Trail in Newfoundland, we stopped several times to take photos. More than once, we also met others on the return trip down. Each of them repeated the idea, “It’s prettier at the top.” The first gentleman even seemed scornful that we had dared to stop. To all of those who believed that beauty is in the destination, here are some of the sights you missed along the way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASphagnum moss on a rock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFungus on a tree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFunky tree branches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANewfoundland’s provincial flower, the pitcher plant, found only in boggy areas. (The flower part is not shown in this photo.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMale spruce grouse before he fans his tail as part of his mating display. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAFemale spruce grouse, who took little interest in the male’s mating call. 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA large bee.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOnce my husband and I reached the top, we took in the view. Yes, it WAS beautiful, but I’m glad we didn’t rush past all the beauty along the way.

26 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Beauty In The Journey"

Beautiful photos! I look forward to seeing all your photos you have taken along the way.

Andy and I have started to compile a slideshow of the best ones. So far, he’s taken over 3000 and I’ve taken over 1000. There will be a lot to organize!

Beautiful, Allison! Thank you!

You’re welcome! Thanks for the visit. 🙂

Wise woman, you! And beautiful close-ups of the wayside wonders!

I agree, you stopped to “smell the roses” in a fashion. Very nice photos on the way to the top.

I like taking pictures of “weird” things along trails too.

Isn’t weird stuff fun? 🙂

Great photos! Absolutely love the last one!!

The last is a single shot. I tried taking a panoramic shot but my camera doesn’t know how to stitch together photos which include water. In other words, the actual view was even more spectacular. 🙂

Wow! What a view! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks! If you ever visit Newfoundland, they are literally dozens of more beautiful views like these to see. 🙂

Love the pictures at the beginning which are all rather abstract. And that view is amazing.

My husband is an avid photographer. From him, I’m trying to look at the world from different angles. The writing guides I’ve been working through have also encouraged me to focus on the details instead of the broad picture. I’m glad you liked the photos!

Love this post! Nature’s beauty captured on every shot. Beauty in the journey… what a meaningful title. And… as a Canadian, I can’t be more pleased to see these pics! 😉

I’m delighted to have a visit from a fellow Canadian! Thanks for the high praise.

You are so right…it is all in the journey. Loved those pitcher plants…awesome color.

Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

Here is a photo of the pitcher plant in bloom.

Pitcher Plant in Bloom

wow! that last picture doesn’t even look real! amazing shots and soooo beautiful! 🙂 -beth beth’s book-nook blog

The last photo is a view from the top of Patridgeberry Hill, to which my camera does little justice. Being there made me feel the way I had at the Grand Canyon. The view was so spectacular, nothing I could snap would capture it’s beauty.

What gorgeous photos – I’m always fascinated by mosses and lichens, which look so different in close-up. I enjoyed looking at your work

Over the past few years, I have bought a few books on the vegetation life in Newfoundland with hopes of identifying more flowers and trees but also of understanding its growth. Many of our rocks and bogs have mosses and lichen. These apparently are a prime food for our caribou too.

Nature is wonderful, your photos are Great! Have a great day!

As my husband and I have become more defined in our interests, we tend to visit museums less and trails more, which is a perfect choice in Newfoundland.

Beautiful sights! I imagine that there are many Lookout Trails in Newfoundland. Where was this one located?.

If one visits the Discovery Center just outside Woody Point in the Gros Morne area, one will have the option of hiking various trails. We decided on The Lookout Trail, also known as The Big Point. According to Park Canada, the boardwalk leads to the summit of Partridgeberry Hill and has the best panoramic view in the park.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 321 other followers

