Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Our Finicky Cat

Posted on: October 11, 2013

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. Back in 2006, a stray cat came into my life. For this week’s snapshot, I’m featuring her again.

You’d never know from this photo that Lucy is a finicky cat! Two years, my husband and I had to put her on an appetite stimulant to encourage her to eat. We also started feeding her kitten food, because of its higher calorie content. And I started keeping a spreadsheet of her preferred foods.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There have been some high moments. Prior to putting her on the appetite stimulant, in the summer of 2008, she actually weighed a glorious eight pounds. She also apparently eats lots of hand-outs from family members who check up on her when we’re on vacation. Then this past spring, as the below video shows, my husband brought home a new kind of cat food from Purina and Lucy actually ripped the bag open in her eagerness to try it.

Watch Lucy’s excitement over her new cat food

Now though we’re in some low moments. In September, her weight dropped below seven pounds, which is too low for her. And this was even though she had been eating on a daily basis. We took her to the vet, who took some blood tests, and Lucy promptly decided to stop eating all together.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a week of putting out six varieties of foods every day, including dog food and human food, Lucy finally decided to eat her own cat food again. And has been doing so for a couple of weeks. She even put on a little weight. But she’s not keeping on the weight. Twice since she resumed her eating routine, she has dropped below seven pounds. We have an appointment tomorrow with the vet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s possible we’re being too cautious. All three of our pets have been experiencing health issues since the summer, to the point that we notice even the slightest abnormality in their behavior. However, they’re also all seniors and so the tiniest change could indicate something serious. I love my Lucy girl and am praying for her stable health.

22 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Our Finicky Cat"

What a beautiful cat!

Cute photo.

I don’t have a Saturday Snapshot, but wanted to stop by anyway.

Elizabeth
Silver’s Reviews
My Blog

Thanks for stopping by! I always love visitors. 🙂 Later in the week, I’ll drop over your way too.

so glad you got a diagnosis today that is easily treatable! wishing Lucy the best!

Great news! Lucy has an urinary infection. Why am I so happy? Now we actually have a reason for her ill-health. It’s also an easily treatable condition.

Thanks everyone for your support! I’ll respond to individual comments later in the week.

It really does look like your kitty is being finicky and trying to decide what to eat.

Cute.

Anne’s Snapshot Saturday

Great photos of her in the frig and playing with you. 🙂 She is clearly an important part of the family. I hope she remains okay.

Yes, she’s an integral part of my life. As they say, love me love my cat!

We had a finicky cat and finally all he would eat was the cheapest cat food so that’s what we fed him!

Lucy prefers cheap brand name foods. 🙂

Hahaha! Love her checking out the fridge! It needs a caption! In the meantime, I hope you figure out what the problem is and get your Lucy back on an even keel!

Hoping for the best for Lucy! Cute photo of her looking in the fridge.

Thanks! Lucy has never poked around the fridge before. She’s doing other quirky things in her old age too such as sniffing my husband’s tea and drinking from my water glass.

What a sweet cat she looks, it’s awful when they’re sick, I hope she’s on the mend.

After her Saturday appointment, Lucy slept most of the rest of the day. She’s starting again to eat and so we’ll soon starting routinely checking her weight again. She needs to gain, for us to declare her good.

It’s so hard when they can’t tell you what the problem is.
I hope your visit to the vet gives you some answers.

We’re now going to the vet visit for our mopey dog. The bills are adding up. 😦 At the end of the day though if we have cures for them all, we’ll happily deal with the rest.

My dog is a very picky eater. She will only eat certain brands of dog food for a few days and then refuses to eat it any more.

She loves people food especially chicken, so that’s what I give her along with beef, hot dogs etc. She does love all fruits except bananas and most veggies.

Will keep Lucy and your other cats in my prayers!

That’s exactly how our cat and our foster dog are too. 😦 I guess they keep us on our toes!

Nice update on Lucy. She’s in my prayers too. Best wishes in Saturday’s appointment.

Thanks. Please keep all of our pets in your prayers. They all seem to be taking their turns getting sick, multiple times. 😦

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017: Focus on Cats!

All things cats ahead! I will post roundups of cat training books, cat Trap-Neuter-Release books, cat coloring books, and cat cozies. For all other animal lovers, I will also post roundups of dog cozies and zoo books.

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 325 other followers

