Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #28

Posted on: October 19, 2013

SixWordSaturday

Pet health improved; a light ahead

The past two months have been a roller coaster ride. This leaves me sometimes reluctant to let myself hope. And yet hope is what sustains me though the low points. So, today I’m celebrating the highs from this past week.

First, our three pets are on the mend. Our dog, Barnaby, set us back a few hundred dollars in vet exams but some slight crystallization in his kidneys is probably all that caused the blood in his pee. We need to keep monitoring him, but otherwise he has a clean bill of health. Our dog, Gizmo, has started eating regularly again, stopped having accidents in the house, and is showing lots of improvement in his mobility. We still can only get him to eat cat food, but at least he’s putting on some weight. As for Lucy, she did actually have an infection, but she’s recovering from it. Good news all around!

Second, because our pets are on the mend, our lives have regained some peace. Over the week, I imported my entire novel-in-progress into Scrivener, where I added keywords and comments. I also even completed progress reports for school. My husband has gotten more sleep and more game time. Sadly, we did miss a couple planned activities early in the week. However, tomorrow afternoon, we might get to participate in an agility activity. There’s a light ahead!

That’s my week. What about yours?

6 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #28"

So glad your pets are feeling better. My dog won’t eat dog food either, but she loves people food and cat food.

We still the weight of both our foster dog and our cat to improve, but this week at least they’ve stabilized. We’ll take the baby steps!

The things we do for our pets. . . they are truly furry little souls! I’m glad that they’re all on the mend–it’s so stressful when pets are ailing.

This week, my husband discovered a recipe for home-made dog food. For now, it’s solved the dilemma of what to feed our finicky dogs. Now if only we could find something for our cat. 🙂

Good to see there’s some light at the end of the tunnel. And the pets are doing better! Wish you a relaxing weekend!

Saturday was another full day, but on Sunday my husband and I took part in an agility demo at a local pumpkin farm. He ran our dog over hurdles, while I took photos. A much welcome outing!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

