Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Family Photo

Posted on: December 21, 2013

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. For a long time, my husband and I have wanted to get a family photo taken. One that included all of our pets. This month, we finally got around to it.

FamilyPortrait2013_SmallL-R: Lucy (cat), Allison, Barnaby (poodle), Andy, and Gizmo (silky terrier).

The need for a photo became extra pressing this fall. Our foster dog suffered a herniated disc in the summer and became partially paralyzed. In subsequent months, all kinds of other health issues cropped up too. Although Gizmo has yet to regain full mobility, he has rebounded in health. Our cat started struggling with her appetite a couple of years ago. Things worsened this fall when Lucy had a couple of infections and then began to suffer from both heart and kidney issues. We even had to start using a feeding tube. Her kidneys are now giving out, which means she’s living on borrowed time.

12 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Family Photo"

Allison, my heart go out to you. I am so sorry that Lucy has passed. I know she was your special girl. I was just looking at your photos and video, and she was the same size as my Tina. People often mistook Tina for a kitten because she was so tiny. It has been 5 years since my baby girl, Tina past but I still miss her terribly. I swear we were like sole mates. Take care!

Thank you taking time to look at my photos and video of Lucy. Also, I enjoyed hearing about your precious girl, Tina. Because of Lucy, my husband have fallen for tiny cats.

It feels unreal that one day Lucy was snuggling in my arms and the next day we’ve lost her forever. The world isn’t the same without our pets who have passed.

Lucy is gorgeous!

Yeah, she’s my beautiful girl. 🙂

I love this photo! What a great idea to take a picture with your pets…I have never done that formally!

My relatives inspired the idea. You should try it too. 🙂

Lovely to have a family photo, although cats are never that keen for photos.

One reason I kept delaying the photo is that I wasn’t sure how our pets would cooperate, especially when our cat and foster dog don’t like each other. I imagine that the photo only worked, because of Lucy being in ill health.

Lovely photo. Merry Christmas!

Thanks! This year, we had made plans to take Lucy with us to visit our in-laws. Sadly, that never happened. Our next cat will get hauled around to more places. 🙂

So nice that you have gotten the time to get this photo taken for posterity! Merry Christmas!

This year, we lost two of our pets. I regret that we didn’t take a family photo when our guinea pig, Bumblebee, was still alive. However, we did take it in time to have our cat in the photo. Lucy died on December 22 of kidney failure. I’m so glad we have this memory of her. She was such an integral part of our family.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 320 other followers

