Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #33

Posted on: January 25, 2014

SixWordSaturday

New year’s resolution: Play more often!

Just before the end of 2013, my husband and I adopted a new cat. Cinder is a beautiful tortoiseshell, who is just over one-year-old. She loves to play with toys and enjoys hide-and-seek. She also loves to explore and to run through the house. Her energy sometimes seems unlimited. So, I have begun setting aside time every day to play with her, because I don’t want to miss out on this active part of her life.

I’m terrible at play. My husband says that whenever I clear stuff off my schedule, I just fill it back up with more stuff. He doesn’t think I’d know what to do with free time.  And he might be right. When I do have a free evening, I often have no idea how to handle it.

If I become too immersed in my own pursuits, Cinder sticks her face into mine and demands attention. Then I get down on the floor to crawl after her, play peek-a-boo, or rub her tummy.  Even if she’s contented in her own playtime, I often end up checking on her. That’s because she might be on a forbidden shelf or otherwise getting herself into trouble. I love how much Cinder adds to my life!

That’s my week. What about yours?

6 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #33"

People who don’t have pets just don’t understand how much joy they can add to everyday life! Congratulations on your new family member!

We had a tortoise shell cat when I was a kid. She was a stray who moved in with us, and we very creatively named her Kitty. That was our first cat and a beloved one. Unfortunately, I became very allergic and can’t keep cats anymore, but I loved the ones we had growing up.

My husband had the opposite experience. Growing up cats made him sick. Now he’s rarely bothered by them.

There should always be room for play.

Even the Bible says to take time to enjoy life. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

