Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #35

Posted on: February 15, 2014

SixWordSaturday

My husband puts my happiness first

Andy always tries to put my happiness first. My latest example involves my writing. In the summer, when we looked at our budget, we realized that somehow we needed to make more money if we were to ever buy a house. He wondered if could try again to turn my part-time teaching position into a full-time one. I instead proposed work-for-hire, which I could actually have more control over than whether our school district would give me a second position or bump up my hours. Our both preferring the work-for-hire idea, because it would allow me to keep building my writing skills, we agreed that I’d start right after I finished the second draft of my novel. Even the fact he accepted my request to wait a few months was sweet of him.

However, I only asked that Andy that he let me wait, because I figured that I’d finish my draft during National Novel Writing Month. Well, during November, my draft doubled in size. So, now I figured it would take December to finish. Our sweet Lucy cat also took sick and that further set back my writing plans. A few months looked as if they could stretch into multiple months. Moreover, our bills were piling up, because of our daily trips to the vet. I suggested to my husband that I reserve weekends for finishing my draft and start using weekdays to apply for freelance contracts. His opinion? He felt I should finish my novel as planned. Somehow we’d figure out our money situation. For example, there was the possibility he would get a raise. Yet at the time, it was only a hope. So again, the fact he extended the deadline for finishing my novel was sweet of him.

Mid-January, we got the news that his raise was official. I also finally pushed past the middle section of my novel. Barring further misfortune, I should finish it next month. So, I’m finally ready to take on work-for-hire, except now Andy has a different opinion about how I should spend my time. Writing my novel makes me happy. So, he thinks I should keep writing it. If the writing takes a year, then let it. If it takes two years, as long as I’m happy and I’m growing in my skills, then let it. I’d love to bring in more income, but we’re also both aware that one writing project outside of the challenging profession of teaching is probably all I can realistically handle. Andy thinks I’ll be happier working on a novel, which means his opinion is that I should put work-for-hire plans indefinitely on hold. I’m blessed beyond measure to have a husband who so highly values my happiness.

That’s my week. What about yours?

12 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #35"

What a wonderful post, and a wonderful feeling.

Along with my novel-in-progress, my husband has also been my biggest supporter of this blog. It similarly doesn’t bring in any income either, but it does allows me the satisfaction of knowing there’s an audience for what I write. 🙂

You are blessed indeed. What a good valentine Andy is!

I think I’ll keep him. 🙂

Isn;t wonderful to have such a caring partner! Enjoy your weekend!

Enjoy weekend too! For our Friday night, we ate out at a restaurant and went to a Bob and Tom radio show tour. Then on Saturday we attended a fund-raiser for animal rescue. The donated cakes were sold for astounding prices!

Congratulations on being able to spend your time doing what you love. Your husband sounds lovely 🙂

Thanks. Besides writing, I also teach. Both are wonderful careers. 🙂

Congrats, and how great it is to have a husband that values your dreams. Thanks for visiting my blog today.

I appreciate your weekly visits too!

How fortunate you are to be able to spend time doing what you love to do–and how fortunate that you have a partner who helps you to make that happen!

Yes, I AM blessed. 🙂

My husband also in turn gets to spend his weekend nights staying up late to play video games. During football season, he also gets to watch all the professional games.

There’s nothing like support though of one’s dreams.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 320 other followers

