Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: NANO Celebration

Posted on: March 21, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. This week, I’m posting photos of all the ways my husband has recently spoiled me.

“I’m proud of you!” My husband spoke those words to me earlier this month. Why? Because I had finished writing the second draft of my novel-in-progress, a draft that is a whopping 130,000 words.

To celebrate, he took me out for a favorite entrée and a favorite dessert. At this past National Novel Writing Month, I tried a vanilla-filled, strawberry-topped French Toast meal at IHOP. Breakfast never tasted so good! Naturally, I wanted to have it again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As for the dessert, I was hooked the first time I tried carrot cake at Village Inn. The menu describes it as: “A moist cake studded with shredded carrots, pineapple, walnuts, and raisins covered with cream cheese frosting and finished with chopped almonds.” This is no lie! Whenever I can order dessert at Village Inn, this is what I get.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

However, that isn’t where the rewards ended. My husband also let me buy books by one of my favorite authors, Sara Zarr. This included three (the ones in elastic) being purchased through Kings English Bookshop so that I could have them signed. My reviews of them should appear in June, along with potentially an interview!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last gift isn’t really an award, as much as incentive for the future. There’s nothing like chocolates to boost a writer’s energy. Pretty boxes are fun to get too. Well, for the past couple of years, after Valentine’s Day ends, my husband has hit the stores for chocolates and then come home to hide them. This year was no exception, except when he came home, he decided to be unusually devious about where he hid them. Instead of one day like last year, it took me until just last week to find all twelve boxes. Yes, I said TWELVE! (One for each month, right?) A few of the more clever locations were: under the cat bed, in the basement rafters, in the pet stroller, among my education books (that was the one with the chalkboard cover) — and, the sneakiest of all… in my collection of keepsake Valentine’s boxes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As for my novel-in-progress, I’m enjoying a hiatus from it. That’s included reading bestsellers, browsing online writing boards, and sneaking in some naps. See you next week!

10 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: NANO Celebration"

I’ll have to try those desserts next time I go to IHOP and Village Inn! You hubby sounds like a lot of fun. Congrats on the progress you’ve made on your novel!

The French Toast is an actually an entree. If you like the sound of it though, I also recommend the crispy strawberry cheesecake. 🙂 Not that I’m trying to promote any one restaurant, but I think I could go poor and get fat at IHOP. 🙂

Congratulations on completing your second draft of your novel. That’s quite an accomplishment and definitely worthy of celebration. Kudos to your husband for rewarding you in such delightful ways, and thanks for sharing the celebration.

Thanks! My husband knows how to spoil me. 🙂

Wow, twelve boxes. Lucky you!!

There were quite a variety too. Some were truffles or caramel clusters. I also got some malted balls.

Congratulations! What a great hubby to show you so many “rewards” for your work.

I did NaNoWriMo in 2010…and while I kept working on the manuscript, I also put it aside for a breather from time to time. Now it is in production and being released some time in April. There is a happy ending!

Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

Thanks for the encouragement. How awesome that a novel you wrote during NANO will get published.

Great story! I love the hiding of the chocolates idea. I would try that for my wife but I think the dog would find them first which would not be good.

Oh, I’m surprised that our dog didn’t squish the chocolates in the pet stroller. The box was tucked under the stroller mat but that doesn’t offer much protection. I’m also surprised our cat didn’t rip at the box behind her cube, especially given how much she plays with it. We were fortunate. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

