Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Children’s Zoo

Posted on: April 18, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. This week, I’m posting photos from our local children’s zoo. My husband and I visited there last Saturday, which was a gloriously sunny day. The next day is snowed. 😦

Soon after our visit, I created a Facebook album of over fifty photos, mostly arranged in chronological order. The dilemma then today lay in eliminating even more photos, or further narrowing my focus, to post here for Saturday Snapshot.

The most natural pick to start with is what proved to be the most popular photo among my Facebook friends. It’s a photo of my husband with a mechanical lion named Leo who picks up paper. Apparently, the lion has been around the zoo since, oh, forever. 🙂

LeoLion

The next most natural pick is of bird photos. As I discovered when creating my Facebook album, either our children’s zoo has a lot of them or they were among my favorite creatures there. There were many familiar birds such as cranes, peacocks, and storks. There were also more unusual ones such as the vulterine guinea fowl. The best though were the penguins, because we got to see being fed.

PenguinsFed

PenguinSolo

PenguinSwim

Besides the birds, the next most common theme in my photos ended up being animals with their tongues out. Below is a reindeer and a flying squirrel.

Reindeer

FlyingSquirrel

Some of my other favorite animals to see were the camels and the otters. We discovered the camels have squishy noses! The otters were happily in a playful mood.

Camel

Otter

I’ll leave you with one of the photos which I most like. It’s of a turkey, who decided to make himself a resident of the zoo. I love the background.

TurkeyButterfly

15 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Children’s Zoo"

I agree that it is hard to narrow down which photos to share as there are so many good ones when you go to the zoo. There are so many interesting animals that its hard to choose just a handful.

Sean at His and Her Hobbies

Just wait until we go to our local wildlife safari! Or to our general zoo! Those both take an entire day to visit. I might have to create multiple posts for them. 😉

The turkey with the butterfly is an awesome picture. I also like the otter–that’s such a good shot.

I’ve been away from Saturday Snapshot for a while. I’d love for you to stop by my post.

Thanks for the compliments! Headed your way now to visit. 🙂

I love that Spring is finally arriving and we can plan some of these fun outdoor outings! I’d have wanted to pet the camel and feel that squishy soft snout!

That looks like a fun day out! I love that you can see the otters from in the water.

Picking out the best shot of the otters to share was tough. They were so delightful to watch.

THe penguin shots…too cute! Looks like you had fun sans kids!

Funny, during our visit, I was thinking about how fun it would be to share the zoo with kids. 🙂 Only one kid seemed unhappy and maybe he was just having a bad day. He even spilled his drink. The others all seemed to be enjoying themselves. They were chasing birds, chattering about other animals, feeding debris to the mechanical lion, and eating sweets.

Beautiful pics! Love the penguins.

Me too! I once even tried to write a story about penguins. 🙂

I can see how it would be difficult to choose which photos to post today. They’re all good. Sounds like you had a wonderful day at the zoo.
My Saturday Snapshot is HERE.

The majority of the photos I didn’t show were of birds, but I also left out those of turtles and wallabies and the indoor exhibit. Our children’s zoo made for an afternoon of adventure!

It looks like a fun day- I like all your photos.

Our fun day was topped off by ice-cream and free pizza! We arrived at the vendor near the end of opening hours to buy ice-cream. They had several pieces of pizza left. My husband and I were both offered a free piece along with our ice-cream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

