Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Watercolor Class

Posted on: June 6, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. When I started trying to write on a daily basis for publication, I ended up finding I needed other ways in which I could be creative and just have fun. After a lot of juggling of schedules and dealing with course cancellations, I finally ended up taking a watercolor class.

I know next to nothing about watercolor. So right now it’s all about learning techniques, starting with how to do a blend and a wash.

Watercolor_1Color

 

Watercolor_Wash

It’s amazing though what one can create with just technique. Here, I started with a dab of paint for the trunk. Then I added water to spread the paint and shape it into branches. Once the tree dried, I painted the background.

WatercolorTree

We’re also experimenting with using different objects to create art, such as leaves and sponges.

Leaf_Press

Watercolor_Sponge

Last, we’re also actually creating some art, such as landscapes and other scenic views.

Watercolor_Landscape

Watercolor_Iceberg

20 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Watercolor Class"

Your landscapes are coming out well already. Hope you continue to enjoy your new hobby.

Thank you! What I most like is to create variations of one scene and then decided on a preferred technique. 🙂

I would love to watercolor. I love art even though I am only a novice. I have quite a bit of paint (oil), brushes, pencils (colored and regular), and if you could see me at the art store, you’d think I was the next Picasso….lol. It relaxes me. Love your blog too.

If you want to watercolor, then you should! What’s stopping you? 😉

Like you, I’m a novice artist. I plan to stay that way too, because I have enough professional pursuits. 🙂

Oh, yes, isn’t art relaxing? Thanks for the compliment on my blog!

This looks like such fun! I love all the colors you’re working with.

My favorite colors are the ones I end up blending from multiple colors. This is how I created a brown for an iceberg painting I created.

What fun! Your pictures are great!

I agree — it’s a good idea to have more than one creative outlet, and water coloring looks like a good one. I enjoy making clothes for my 3-year-old granddaughter and making quilts. In both cases, the selection of the pattern and fabric and the assembly of the project provide a lot of creative expression, and it’s nice to do something where you have a tangible product at the end. I’m sure the same is true with water colors.

My aunt loves to make quilts. It’s always a delight to listen to her talk about the thought process which goes into them.

With watercolor, I like being able to just experiment. It’s an extra bonus if I end up also making a real picture. 🙂

Great job on the water colours. Looks like you picked it up quickly and have a talent for it. I was never very good at water colours or charcoal drawings when I was in school. I think my artistic talents lie in ceramic painting and sewing.

Sean at His and Her Hobbies

Thank you for the compliment. Ironically, I feel as if I’m a slow learner, but I do very much like it.

Sewing on the other hand wasn’t something that ever appealed to me, although I tried because both my grandmothers enjoyed it. Anything I stitched came apart within a month. 😦

Ceramic painting seemed fun the one time I tried it. Somewhere I have a bowl that I designed. 🙂

I never thought about taking a watercolor class. I have been playing with watercolor myself. I love the way the colors blend on the page.

Here’s my Saturday Snapshot!

In my watercolor class, we also explored water soluable oil. I might become an artist who enjoys multiple mediums. 🙂

Good for you to try something new. How else do we discover our next great passion?

My husband says I have too many passions. 🙂 Watercolor is one of my more relaxing pursuits though and we both agree it’s good.

Sounds like fun!

On those days when I just let myself play, it’s kind of like being a kid with finger paints again. 🙂

It looks as if you’re enjoying doing watercolors, Allison. As long as you don’t try to get me to do them, I hope that you continue to enjoy doing them.

Hmm, I am buying paints during my visit this summer. Maybe I should get an extra set. 😉

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

