Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #45

Posted on: June 28, 2014

SixWordSaturday

Good-bye again to family and Newfoundland

Today when the alarm rang, I woke up with a sadness in my heart and had to push back tears. Later this afternoon, Andy and I will say farewell to my family for another year. As I noted in my previous post, Andy and I have enjoyed devotions, home-cooked meals, and table games with my family. There’s also been ample time to read and sleep.

This past week held some special highlights. Early in the week, we visited the Newfoundland outport of Twillingate. It’s having an unusually bountiful year with icebergs. We saw ones of various sizes and even of different shades. Some were far out in the ocean, while others floated closer to the shore. Andy and I even tasted a piece of an iceberg, along with sitting on one. While in Twillingate, we also hiked a couple of trails, visited a few gift and craft shops, and treated ourselves to a couple traditional meals. For those of you follow my Saturday Snapshot memes, you’ll see photos sometime this summer from that trip.

Near the end of this week, my sister graduated from high school. The first day we attended her Cap and Gown ceremony and the next day we watched the Grand March for her graduating class. She returned a few hours ago from a safe grad, which consisted of lots of activities and prizes. My brother graduated last year and will soon be starting a medical laboratory assistant program. My sister will go away next year to university and hopes to become a lawyer.

Besides these special activities, Andy and I visited relatives and talked with them about their childhood memories. In addition, Andy and I took my family out for a thank you meal. We also tried a new restaurant. There are certain foods such as fish and chips, cod-au-gratin, fish and brewis, and scallops which we can only easily get here.

That’s my week. What about yours?

14 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #45"

It’s always hard to leave when you have been having such a good time – but there’s always next year!

On our final day in Newfoundland, my husband and I have a ritual that helps. First, we review the highlights of our trip. Second, we list what we can look forward to the first month after we get home. Third, we brainstorm the adventures we’d like to have during our next visit. Yes, God willing, there is always another year.

I like that ritual – it seems a very good idea.

What a bittersweet time. Happy to have had such a nice visit…but sad to see them go. ((Hugs))

Thanks for the hugs!

Glad you enjoyed family time. Saying good-bye is never easy.

Saying hello is easier. 😉

Oh the joys and sadness, a bittersweet time, sending you happy thoughts.

Andy and I are back home now. I’ve already contacted my family by phone or email multiple times. Yes, it’s a bittersweet time. 🙂

Glad you had such a good time. It’s always hard when good things end.
Iceberg sounds like a big ice lolly (popsicle?) to taste!

If you taste an iceberg straight out of the ocean, it tastes salty and not good. Rinsing it first makes it tastes purer and better quenches the thirst..

Thankful you had time together and praying for your travels

I have been to Twillingate and loved the icebergs. Did you see whales?

How did you end up going to Twillingate?! Ours was a whirlwind trip. 🙂

We didn’t see whales there, but saw them last year when we traveled up the Northern Peninsula. Here’s a post about that trip:
https://allisonsbookbag.wordpress.com/2013/07/27/snapshot-meme-newfoundland-wildlife/

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

