Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: The Rest of the Vacation

Posted on: August 16, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. Andy and I spent the month of June in Newfoundland with my family. This week, I’m posting the last of my photos dedicated to that trip. They are of the smaller events.

For the first time in years, I got to celebrate my dad’s birthday with him. I gave a grammar book to my dad. It’s one of the topics he likes to study. To celebrate my dad’s birthday, we ate out Donnini’s, a place Andy and I most like for their donairs. My siblings brought a German chocolate cake, my dad’s favorite kind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also got to spent Father’s Day with my dad. I gave a religious book to my dad. It’s also one of the topics he likes to study. To celebrate Father’s Day, we ate out a Chinese restaurant. My siblings bought another chocolate cake!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I never get to celebrate Leonora’s birthday or Mother’s Day except belatedly, but this year I took Leonora out for a special meal. We also shopped for clothes and she found me a pair of jeans. Next year, she has to find something for HER!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This summer was a big one for my siblings, because of their respective graduations. Andy and I also got to attend their piano recital!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

RecitalRobert

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Most days, Andy and I played games with anyone in the family who was available. Here we’re playing Crokinole, a Hunter family favorite. The whites aren’t doing well.  We almost lost one of our game pieces. The shot was so hard!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our last day together, we spent in Deer Lake, which is where Andy and I would catch our airplane. We ate Poppa’s Joe’s Dairy, recommended for its ice-cream treats. Goodbye until next year!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

12 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: The Rest of the Vacation"

You have had some lovely family times.

Hopefully, there will be many more wonderful times to come. 🙂

This looks like it was a delightful visit. I’m sure your dad was thrilled to have you there to celebrate with him. Such a joyous occasion.

I grew up with just my dad. It’s been hard to miss his special days. So, this year was pretty special.

What a wonderful vacation! Spending time with family is the best. Thanks for sharing.

I know from your snapshots how much family is part of your life too. 🙂

NIce collection of photos of smaller events in your visit.

What a wonderful time with family!

Next year may be very different. Both of my siblings are of college age. Who knows where they will land for their summers? 😦

What a lovely holiday- so much time catching up with family. I’m rather intrigued with that game- I’ve never seen it before. It looks tricky.

Until I moved to the United States, I didn’t realize that Crokinole is a Canadian game. I grew up playing it and loving it, but my friends here have found it a bit of a challenge.

Basically, Crokinole has elements of shuffleboard, curling, and even marbles. Players take turns shooting discs across a table-sized circular playing surface. They try to have their discs land in the higher-scoring regions of the board, while also attempting to knock away opposing discs.

After I got married, my dad bought me one from Mr. Crokinole. The game is more expensive than the average board game. That’s because they’re made of wood and hand-crafted.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

