Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Sunken Gardens

Posted on: September 27, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. This past August as part of my birthday celebrations, Andy and I visited Sunken Gardens. I felt in a mood to do something different with my photos.

The first shots I took were all at eye level with the flowers.  I also tried to ensure there were multiple colors. Or at least there was a spot of another color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also experimented with different angles. And I tried a shot where I focused on the flowers in the forefront.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually, I reverted to my traditional practice of taking close-up shots of photos. Pansies are my favorite! I also enjoyed taking shots of flowers which were being blown in the wind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here I’m playing again with composition. The second photo is a little blurry, but I like the effects.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a time, I turned to taking photos of bees and all those other flying creatures that like to hang around flowers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some plants I took photos of just because they were weird. Or fun!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

12 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Sunken Gardens"

Beautiful flowers and great photo’s of them. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for dropping by! Now off to check out your site. 🙂

Great shots! I like focusing on one ‘layer’ of a composed image too … I like the blurriness that enhances what’s been focused on.

Thank you. My husband taught me how to blur the background. 🙂

Good job on the flowers! I especially like the coneflower and the busy bee.

Taking photos of flower most started to interest me when I got a macro feature on my camera. This allows me to zoom in on stuff like bees. 🙂

So many varieties and yes, some are indeed fun and exotic looking. Thanks for sharing.

You’re welcome! Every year different flowers and ground covers are planted. It’s always fun to see what the new combination will be.

Lovely plants. Belated happy birthday 🙂

Thank you for the belated birthday wishes. Next week, I’ll be posting about one other birthday adventure.

The flowers are gorgeous, and you have captured so many interesting perspectives. Thanks for sharing.

Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

I just came from one of many presentations today about the creative process, including one on … using different angles for photos. 🙂 Thanks for your visit!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

