Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot Meme: Indian Cave

Posted on: October 4, 2014

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. When I came back from Newfoundland this past summer, I wanted to find some hiking trails in Nebraska. Indian Cave has them! As part of my birthday celebrations in August, Andy and I visited Indian Cave.

Before embarking on hikes, Andy and I took the stairs up to the cave for which the park is named. Apparently, there are fifteen carvings or petroglyphs. I found only six. 😦 Besides petroglyphs, Andy and I also saw an unusual formation in the rock.


IndianCave

IndianCave_Petroglyph

IndianCave_Oddity

Not far from the cave, we hiked our first trail. It was slick and steep. The day was also a buggy one. As I took this photo, probably a dozen mosquitoes buzzed around me. The view at the top was almost worth the climb.

IndianCave_UpTrail

IndianCave_TrailTop

We met a couple coming up and asked them how much was left to the trail. They said not far. it sure didn’t feel that way! On the way down the trail, we saw toads. We also weird formations on trees. The lady we met on the trail was pregnant. As we didn’t hear any reports of tragedies at Indian Cave, I’m guessing she survived the trail. We almost didn’t!

IndianCave_TrailToad

IndianCave_TrailOddity

IndianCave_DownTrail

One trail down, Andy and I checked out the old schoolhouse. To the side was a merry-go-round.

IndianCave_School

IndianCave_Schoolyard

After walking three steep trails, we took a flat one around marshy land. It was a long trail with lots of pretty scenery.

IndianCave_Marsh

IndianCave_MarshWalk

The birds were too far away for me to get close shots. I focused instead of building up a collection of butterfly photos. My favorites are of the mating butterflies, which we spied on the return trail.

IndianCave_MarshButterflies1

IndianCave_MarshButterflies2

18 Responses to "Snapshot Meme: Indian Cave"

What a lovely day that looks. How fantastic to find any of the carvings at the cave. I grew up with roundabouts like those too, sad that kids these days don’t often get to see them. And great to see some monarch butterflies.

Except for the weather, it was a wonderful day. I loved my birthday outing!

Great photos! Love the one of the old merry go round. I haven’t seen one like that since I was a kid back in Australia. The toad almost looks like a cane toad which would be unusual that far north but I think it is probably another species.

Sean at His and Her Hobbies

I grew up with merry-go-rounds like these too. 🙂 I don’t know one toad from another, but you do have me curious. An online search seems to confirm that the Midwest doesn’t have cane toads. Maybe another visitor will know?

That does look like a steep climb. But so much of interest to see. I love the butterfly shots.

Somehow we managed not to get any ticks that day. Not sure how, as we walked through lots of grass, mud, and woods. So that was a blessing, along with all the new sights.

Lots of great photos for all your efforts! Love the views and the butterflies.

Amazingly, we just walked the easiest and shortest trails. Didn’t feel like it when we were on them!

What a great way to celebrate your birthday! Looks like you and your husband had a great time in beautiful surroundings. Love the photos of the monarchs too.
Here’s the link to my snapshots: Cinque Terre.

The marsh trail was a beautiful find. We’ll have to return one day just to walk its entire loop.

What an interesting trail. I love the butterflies. 🙂

Andy and I hope to return when the weather is more cooperative. There were a lot of trails we left unexplored.

I’m huffing and puffing just looking at the elevation changes in some of your photos! Phew! Still, seeing the petroglyphs must have been really neat! just putting your hands over top of where an ancient artist made his or her mark is so spiritual to me … very cool place!

I first saw petroglyphs in Arizona. They fascinated me so much I bought a book about them!

August in Nebraska is often buggy and humid isn’t it? But look at all the foliage! Beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

Yeah, I should have been prepared for the bugs and humidity. The day wasn’t particularly hot though and so it deceived me. 🙂

What a journey! Thanks for sharing your experiences and the photos. Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

Thanks for your regular visits! I always enjoy your Saturday Snapshots.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

