Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #47

Posted on: November 8, 2014

SixWordSaturday

There’s so much to talk about!

When I last wrote, summer had just ended and my first week of another teaching year had begun. I didn’t realize then that it would be three whole months before I’d post here again.

Why the long absence? Number one answer is the hectic life of a special education teacher! This year, I’ve switched grades and therefore the curriculum which I support. Our district also unveiled new software for completing all of our paperwork.

But, there’s more to my absence. For example, most of you know that I’m working on a novel. Over the summer, it wasn’t going well. I couldn’t find the right way to revise. So, I guess number two is the insane life of a writer!

What else? Well, recently, I read a book about the seasonal changes in a woman’s life. Based on it, if I were to pick a third reason, I’d say that I experience a transitional stage in my life. During the past several months, I have sought out new pursuits. Some of them have stopped being important to me such as art classes. Others have taken on increased importance such as my involvement in animal rescue. In the end, the most important things have remained: my faith, my family, my teaching, and my writing.

Along the way, I have also tried to readjust my priorities. Last year about this time, I immersed myself in the second version of my novel. For six months, I felt as if I had no life. When I finished that version, I decided there was more to life than becoming a novelist. Incidentally, there is also more to life than being a teacher. Or any one focus.

That doesn’t mean I want to jump from one interest to another either. It just means I want to feel more relaxed about life. If the paperwork doesn’t get done today, the world will not end. If a chapter in my novel takes a month to figure out, that’s okay because it’s about the journey. If one night I feel a need to just sit, listen to music, and read a magazine, then sometimes this is what should happen. Sure, there will be times when life is push, push, push. But there also needs to be times when life is about the kisses my pets give me. We only get this one life.

That’s been my fall. What about yours?

12 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #47"

Sounds like you have your priorities straight! 🙂

Wish I could always get them straight!

You’ve had quite a fall! Mine has been interesting too.

Robert and Shekinah began new programs of study, Robert the Medical Laboratory Assistant’s program at the local College of North Atlantic and Shekinah the first year of university at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in Corner Brook.

Leonora and I are hosting a high school student from Brazil, Gabriel, from September to January. It’s part of a program designed to help international students improve their communication in English.

I’ve begun sponsoring a young relative of Leonora, Katereen. As you know, Leonora has tried to help members of her family as much as she can ever since she came here to marry me. However this is the first time for me to have a connection with any of her relatives other than occasional e-mails or Facebook messages. I’m enjoying it.

In September I began attending Sunday School (Pastor King’s adult class), Men’s Bible Study (Tuesday mornings), and Men’s Ministries (Thursday evenings). However the only one that I’ve attended regularly so far is Sunday School.

Also in September Leonora and I began hosting the Life group that another couple was hosting but decided not to host this year. We’re reading and discussing Gregory and Edward Boyd’s “Letters from a Skeptic.”

As well I’m making weekly posts on open theism at my Open Theism blog again. I plan also to resume making posts on Wayne Grudem’s “Systematic Theology” when we return to it in our family reading (we’re reading something else while Gabriel’s with us) and to continue making posts on special occasions.

“In the end, the most important things have remained: my faith, my family, my teaching, and my writing.” Mine continue to be my faith, my wife and the rest of my family, my “ministries” (the Life group and my blog), and my reading.

Thanks for taking the time to share news from your fall. I’m proud of how well the siblings are doing at school! Your blog posts on “Systematic Theology” have been missed. I enjoy our conversations about faith. Enjoy your full and blessed days.

Blah blah blah blah blah. Welcome back.

Yeah, yeah, women do like to talk. It’s nice to be back!

I’ve always thought that having more than one interest keeps me thriving. Much like how the seasons bring other joys, like oh goodness I have to mow again, but then while mowing and smelling the fresh air, and seeing the magic of a carpet before me, my food dishes are better than tasty, my own writings refreshed, and as for that art project I’m cooking up for the State Fair again- hey it gets some fresh thoughts! A win, win I say!

You have a point about the value of different activities. Although I dropped out of my watercolor classes this summer, they inspired scenes in my novel and the pursuit of other artistic mediums. For example, now I’m drawing with colored pencils and markers instead of just pencils. So, even if it was a passing fancy, it positively impacted my life.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

