Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #48

Posted on: November 15, 2014

SixWordSaturday

I’m scared to share my stories!

For the past few years, I have stayed safe and comfortable with my writing. Four years into blogging, I can now output a review in about an hour. At least on the good days. I also rarely ask my husband anymore to critique my posts.

Articles are somewhat different. It does takes me a few hours to research. Then I have to figure out my slant. After that, I have to write the darn thing! Still, two years into writing articles for volunteer organizations, I don’t hesitate about offering to write one.

Yet earlier this week, I found myself telling my husband, “I’m scared to share my writing!” Why? When the students in my after school writing club all decided to write a scary story, I agreed to challenge myself by trying my hand at one too.

Outlining the plot for my story wasn’t so bad. Actually, I felt kind of excited…. until the moment to write came. I hated every word I put on the page.

The problem is I haven’t shared enough of my fiction to know how others will react. I know there are readers who like my blog. And I know there are readers who like my articles. But I don’t know if I will ever have readers who like my stories. And so I’m terrified. Yet I’m going to require my students to share their work, I have to be also willing to take that step.

That’s been the highlight of my week. What about you?

10 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #48"

Give it your best shot! I am working on memoirs through my blog. I had to start somewhere.

All the best with your memoirs! A blog is a good place to start. It gives you an immediate audience and encourages discipline.

Currently attempting to overcome sloth and reluctance, which have resulted in a dearth of active submissions. Got out a few pieces this past week & am determined to keep at least half a dozen in the pipeline at all times.

Good for you! I hope to hear of some success stories.

Go for it. What’s the worst that can happen?

One fear is that my students will think I’m the worst writing teacher ever. My husband says that I need to remember that I’m modeling the whole process for them, including revision.

I say share away! We’re here at the ready!

When I work on my story again, I might have to do that old trick of thinking about one student who might like my story. 🙂

The more you share your fiction, the easier it will get. 🙂 My week’s highlight was coffee after work with two friends I hadn’t had the chance to chat with for a while.

A good highlight! Seeing old friends is always a treat.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017: Focus on Cats!

All things cats ahead! I will post roundups of cat training books, cat Trap-Neuter-Release books, cat coloring books, and cat cozies. For all other animal lovers, I will also post roundups of dog cozies and zoo books.

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 325 other followers

