Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #63

Posted on: May 30, 2015

SixWordSaturday

Life is never what you expect

Since the start of May, I’ve rewritten this Six-Word-Saturday multiple times without ever finishing it. So much has happened. I’ll focus on the two events that I can share.

In 2012, a senior silky came into our lives first through foster care and then adoption. For a couple of years, his health was being maintained. Then in January of this year, Gizmo started having attacks of pancreatisis. Each month, the bouts became more frequent and further weakened him. When spring came, we got to the point that we didn’t know whether neither of us would take our annual visit to see my family or if just I’d go or what we would do. Then the decision was made for us, when this past Saturday we lost Gizmo. This summer will not be what we expected.

Gizmo TributeRead Andy’s tribute to Gizmo here: Our Last Goodbye

After my Lucy cat died in 2013, I got more involved in animal rescue. In particular, I started to help feed homeless cats. The group I’m part also traps, neuters, and releases these cats back into their feral community. This spring, another heartache came when our town had a severe flood and we some of our cats drowned. My husband and I then made the decision to foster the friendliest of the ferals I feed, to give her a chance to find a forever indoor home. Not all ferals adapt to life indoors, but there are success stories. Still, if you had told me a year ago that our family would include a feral, I would have questioned your sanity. One never knows where life will take you.

Besides these two events, there have been family situations needing prayer. One involved my brother who, now along with my sister, has a full-time job. At the same time, some writing and teaching opportunities have opened up for me.

Good. Bad. And everything in between. Life has been a roller-coaster ride of late for our family. What about for you? What’s your week or month been like?

14 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #63"

if life were an open book….what would be the point? My heart goes out to you on losing your Gizmo and how wonderful to take in a feral kitty. We took in our slightly feral Lucy 4 years ago- never looked back-she’s a strictly indoor cat and is all the better for that! Have a wonderful week.

My first cat’s name was also Lucy! She was a stray. Bless you for taking in a feral. When they will accept a home, they’re so much healthier and safer. Every cat should know love.

I know what you mean!

Six Words about Gloves

Thanks for your visit!

I’m so sorry that you have lost your beloved pet. It’s good to hear good new about your brother and sister.

I’ll see less now of my siblings when I visit home, but I’m happy to see them entering the workforce. I pray everyday for them as they become adults.

Blessings, have a nice Saturday

much love…

Have a good week! Hugs!

This:
“Life is too ironic to fully understand. It takes sadness to know what happiness is. Noise to appreciate silence. And absence to value presence.”

Already my husband and I talking about all the ways we want to be sure and savor the pets we still do have. Our poodle is in his senior years, while our cat is still on the younger side.

Best bet: Have No Expectations.

My husband has the same philosophy. 🙂

Life certainly is a roller coaster Allison, but that is what makes it interesting – it would be boring if every day was the same. I hope you are OK with whatever is going on right now, if not just know that things will get better. My life is also up and down right now, just trying to focus on the positives and riding out the rest.

Life is a sadder with the loss of our dog, but we’re also enjoying a visit with my family. We look forward to our future adventures!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

