Allison's Book Bag

Animal Ambassadors: Fostering Pets

Posted on: July 13, 2015

Gizmo_WalkIn the winter of 2012, the lives of my husband and I changed when we become pet foster parents. Both while growing up and during my adult years, I had adopted pets privately or through shelters. Thus, I felt confident about what lay ahead when we filled out our application. Turns out, I was somewhat naĂŻve. Fostering a hearing- and vision-impaired senior silky terrier with Cushings Disease was a rollercoaster ride. In part due to our experience with Gizmo, I became interested in researching the entire pet parent foster experience, with all of its joys and challenges….

To read more, check out my post Joys of Pet Fostering.

The above post was part of a four-part series. The other articles in the series included:

I wrote this post for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors, a volunteer organization committed to improving the lives of animals and alleviating cruelty in the local community where I live. Some of their offerings include a low-cost spay/neuter program, temporary assistance pet food bank, and education about being responsible pet guardians. The latter is where I mostly help. What has been your experiences with fostering pets?

This post is part of the Small Victories line-up. Check out others by clicking on the below graphic.

SmallVictories

5 Responses to "Animal Ambassadors: Fostering Pets"

I have always wondered what it would be like to be a pet foster parent. I’m sure it is filled with joys and difficulties as you mentioned. Thanks for linking up to Small Victories Sunday Link Up!

I’m still fairly new to pet foster parenting and so enjoyed researching the topic. One experience my husband and I have still to face is giving a foster to an adoptive family. I’m sure that will be bittersweet.

Thanks for visiting my blog and posting a comment. I try to always reciprocate visits, but sadly I’m not on Twitter. Animal welfare is dear to my heart and so I do appreciate your taking time to read some (if not all) my series on the topic.

thanks for this! I have a small dog, but even that feels like a challenge at times!

You’re welcome! The series was an informative and enjoyable one to write.

I grew up with big dogs, but since adulthood have only had small dogs. Yes, they certainly can have their demands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

