Allison's Book Bag

Interview with Pam Hoffman

Posted on: July 16, 2015

PamHoffman&SadieThe past two days I have been posting about the Sadie Dog Fund. In 2007, Pam Hoffman wrote a book about her special needs cocker spaniel. With the proceeds from her Sadie Dog picture book, Hoffman created The Sadie Dog Fund, a non-profit organization that helps to save the lives of dogs by offering financial assistance for mobility solutions, therapies, or surgeries that are too costly for pet parents. Today it’s my pleasure to present an interview with her, in which she shares a little more about her personal life as well as talks about animal welfare.

PERSONAL BACKGROUND

ALLISON: You grew up with animals. What is your favorite pet moment?

PAM: Ten years ago I was delighted to see my newly adopted, rescued puppy mill dog, Abbey, running freely in our backyard. She spotted her first monarch butterfly and with wonder and curiosity she playfully tried to chase it. She was experiencing life as a normal dog.

ALLISON:Nebraska is your home province. What top places would you show off to a visitor?

PAM: Pioneer Park, Smith Falls on the Niobrara, The Orpheum Theatre, Memorial Stadium, State Capitol, and Hearts United for Animals no-kill sanctuary near Auburn.

ALLISON: What is the most outstanding way you changed since your childhood?

PAM: I am no longer shy about expressing my opinions on things I feel passionate about. I value my creativity. I value life, family and friends more.

ALLISON: What is the most outstanding way you have stayed the same since your childhood?

PAM: I still love helping animals. I am still an introvert.

ALLISON: Outside of Sadie, what is your most cherished memory?

PAM: My most cherished memory is of the love I shared with my loved ones who are no longer with me.

BOOK BACKGROUND

ALLISON: How did Sadie come into your life?

PAM: Our friends kept bringing my favorite puppy from their dog’s litter to visit me. We traded them 3 small pine trees for Sadie. It was the best deal I ever made!

ALLISON: Why did you decide to write a book about Sadie?

PAM: I wanted to teach people, especially children, that pets have value even if they have special needs. They are not to be discarded like an old toy or computer. I wanted to teach them to keep searching for ways to help their beloved pet. Never give up on your pet and never give your pet up.

ALLISON: How did you set up a charitable organization?

PAM: I had my attorney create by-laws and other necessary paper work. I formed a board of directors, created our mission statement and applied for 501c3 non-profit status.

ALLISON: What advice would you offer to someone who has a special needs pet?

PAM: When we agree to share our life with a pet we are promising to love, care for and keep it safe for it’s entire life. Don’t become discouraged if your pet has special needs. Research all medical treatments available and make adjustments in your pets environment to accommodate it’s needs. Think out side of the box. Start your own pet fund, by saving money on a regular basis, to help cover unexpected medical treatments for your pet.

ALLISON: What advice would you give to someone wanting to promote animal welfare?

PAM: Just look around your neighborhood, city or state. There are animals suffering at the hands of humans all over the world. Teach others how to be a responsible and loving pet guardian by your own example. Become active in animal advocacy groups. Volunteer to help animals. Be their voice, for they have none in our world.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

