Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #66

Posted on: September 12, 2015

SixWordSaturday

Sickness, clogged drain–setbacks this week

On the heels of needing downtime, I ended up sick over Labor Day weekend. This resulted in my routine being lost, as well as my needing to sleep, sleep, sleep. The latter didn’t happen though, because I had too much schoolwork, household duties, and other commitments to do.

Just when I started to recover, our basement sink clogged and overflowed. Not only did this result in pools of water on the floor, but everything smelled like a sewer. My husband and I spent an evening wiping up the mess and feeling grossed out. The next day we called our landlord. Turns out a tree root in the alley had gotten into the pipes. With it removed, we cleaned up the water that had backed up during the night. We also threw away boxes and other non-essentials that the water had soaked.

So, I’m starting a new weekend by once again feeling a strong need to relax. I do have a few blogging commitments but, if I can get those handled quickly and efficiently, my husband and I will treat ourselves to a “weekend couple date”. Oh, and I’m sure somewhere over the next two days, football figures in his life and reading in mine. 🙂

What’s your week been like?

12 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #66"

Glad you have a cute date night to look forward to after a rubbish time. x

Today the hope is to try a new restaurant and explore a new area of town. Then it’s probably football for hubby and a book for me. 🙂

What a horrible time you’ve been having. I do hope this weekend is everything you’ve been hoping for.

Time with family, an article written, a trip to a couple of bakeries, and a long walk with pets. Saturday was pretty good!

“A strong need to relax” is part of every weekend, isn’t it?

For me, some weekends might mean writing an article, reading a book, and other downtime stuff. Other times, it means watching television and taking naps. This weekend, I kind of need the latter. 🙂

I hope you find the time to relax. 🙂

In between commitments yesterday, my husband and I took time to explore some of our bakeries. We found some new sweets that we’d like to try to make for ourselves. 🙂

That sounds like a good idea. 🙂

My husband and I learned the difference between macaroon and macaron. The latter are so good!

Hope things smooth out for you again soon…

Yesterday my husband and I put everything back into its place in the basement. Then we went out to enjoy a long walk with our pets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

