Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #72: Welcome Rainy!

Posted on: September 25, 2015

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. After a fall of changes, I’m here to introduce you to the newest member of our household.

August 18, I received an email from my friend Kathy asking me if I knew anyone who could foster a kitten. That email changed our household.

Initially, I emailed all my rescue friends for advice. To my surprise, when I later mentioned the kitten to Andy, he instantly reminded me about his desire to foster a kitten.

After that point, my emails took on a different focus. Now I wanted to find a rescue that would allow us to foster, but would ultimately be responsible for finding a forever home for Kathy’s rescue kitten.

From the start, Rainy endeared herself to us because not only did she love to play, but she also enjoyed snuggling next to Andy and me. While Cinder has her own ways of showing affection, being a lapcat isn’t one of them. ;-(

Not aware that we were only fostering her, Rainy made herself at home. She began to join Barnaby in greeting us when we would leave or return from work. She also became friends with him, as well as our other two cats.

A peaceful household didn’t happen overnight. Rainy actually became the glue that pulled all of our pets together. She never accepted rejection from any of them, but just kept initiating play. After several days, all three cats began to play more on their own, with her, and together.

Seeing how happy she made all our pets made for an easy decision. On September 12, we adopted Rainy.

Welcome Rainy to our home! We love you.

14 Responses to "Snapshot #72: Welcome Rainy!"

What lovely photos. Cats do have such unique personalities.

Currently, we have three cats. Cinder typically acts disagreeable about human touch. Bootsie can’t get enough of it, except no hugs please. 😦 And Rainy just wants to play, snuggle, and do everything. Yes, cats are unique!

Awww, how sweet! I think fostering kittens is so wonderful–but I don’t know if I could do it, I’d probably end up adopting them all! It looks like Rainy found the purrfect forever home!

If I were rich and lived in the country, I suspect that I would have a hard time saying “NO” to every rescue that came along. As it is, three cats and a dog make for a full and lively household. 🙂

Oh, how sweet! So glad you adopted Rainy….I love the name, LOL. (It’s my nickname). Thanks for sharing, and here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

Rainy was discovered after a storm. Hence, the name. My husband gave it to her. How did you get your nickname?

I have a feeling that if we fostered a cat or a dog, we’d end up adding the animal to our family! Sounds like you have the same problem.
Rainy is a beautiful cat and sounds like a sweetheart too.
My Saturday Snapshot post is HERE.

One thing I like about how fostering worked out is that because we adopted Rainy through a no-kill shelter, they provided us with a lot of support. They took care of initial health needs and have told us to contact them with any questions.

Rainy is lovely. Good for her to keep trying to make friends. Our daughter has a rescue cat and has fostered feral kittens. Luckily the kittens were all adopted, but her cat Brave remains a work in progress. He is a good for her, now that she is alone after a divorce. Cat therapy!

I found it of interest that your daughter has fostered feral kittens. About a year ago, I started to volunteer with a Trap-Neuter-Release group and became passionate about helping feral. My husband and I are even fostering an adult one.

What a great story! A happy ending for all. I don’t think I could foster an animal and give it away. I’d love to get a cat but have a dog who absolutely hates them, so now isn’t the time. That’s a great picture of Rainy lying on your side as you read.

Our first foster, a silky terrier, hated cats. When the time came for our annual vacation, after we had fostered for a few months, we asked for someone else foster him so our cat could have some peace. Gizmo gave my husband such a heartbreaking look that after vacation, and no permanent fosters came forward, and so we decided to try again. Ultimately, we adopted him, making Gizmo our first foster fail. Although we don’t regret that choice, any future foster dog would have to like cats. 🙂

To be honest, my husband and I aren’t sure yet if we’re cut out to be fosters. As much as we know that fosters are needed, we have now twice decided against letting an animal get adopted by anyone else. I guess everyone helps in their own way. 😉

Congratulations on the addition to your family!

Thanks! Hopefully, someday you’ll meet her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

