Allison's Book Bag

Ten Classic Book Collections on My Shelves

Posted on: October 6, 2015

As part of celebrating classics this month, I wanted to highlight some beloved book collections that are on my shelves. I’ve broken them down in two different ways. One are those titles which comprise a set by being about the same character. Two are those which make up a collection, even if only in my mind, by virtue of their being a group of books by the same author. Another rule I adhered to is that there must be at least ten titles for me to include the collection in my round-up. Also, the books can’t be simply on my wish list, but rather must be ones I have myself repeatedly read. Here goes!

BOOKS

OZ: Fantasy has always been on my reading list, although nowadays it seems as if I mostly enjoy the classic kind. The first title in the OZ series chronicles the adventures of a young girl named Dorothy Gale in the Land of Oz, after being swept away from her Kansas farm home in a cyclone. Thirteen additional titles follow, all featuring Dorothy and/or other notable characters from OZ. For as long as I can remember, this series has been part of my life. I’ve seen the movie spin-offs including one about the author Frank Baum and an exhibit on OZ that featured the red shoes, as well as bought a book entitled The Hundred Years of Oz. My favorite, which I discovered in my dad’s fifth-grade classroom decades ago, remains Ozma of Oz.

Paddington Bear: Animal books have also always been on my list, whether realistic or fantastical. The friendly bear from deepest, darkest Peru—with his old hat, battered suitcase, duffle coat and love of marmalade—has become a classic character who recently starred in his own movie. He was discovered in Paddington Station, London, by the Brown family who adopted him, and possesses an endless capacity for innocently getting into trouble. Decades ago, my dad bought me my very own Paddington Bear plush doll. On my wish list is the autobiography of the author, Michael Bond.

Black Stallion: The first book in the series, published in 1941, chronicles the story of an Arab sheikh’s prized stallion after it comes into Alec Ramsey’s possession. The subsequent novels are about the stallion’s three main offspring, as well as about the Black himself. The series introduces a second stallion that is considered the Black’s only equal – The Island Stallion, Flame. As with other beloved series, I have seen the movie spin-offs. Moreover, the series certainly helped to spawn by childhood love of horses. As an adult, however, I found that riding on them takes getting used to, and so now I prefer to simply enjoy reading about these magnificent beasts. Other than the original title, during my earliest encounter with the series, my favorite title was Black Stallion and the Girl. Is that because I prefer to read books with a female character? Or is it when I reached this title, I had begun to develop an interest in romance novels? One day I’ll have to reread the series and see my favorite title changes.

Doctor Doolittle: This famous doctor shuns human patients in favor of animals, with whom he can speak in their own languages. He later becomes a naturalist, using his abilities to speak with animals to better understand nature and the history of the world. Along with Chronicles of Narnia, this series encouraged a childhood fantasy that animals could talk to humans. Apparently, Doctor Dolittle first appeared in the author’s illustrated letters to children, written from the trenches during World War I when actual news was either too horrible or too dull. Sounds like an author whom I would like to know more about!

Little House: Growing up, I wasn’t a huge fan of historical fiction. One exception, perhaps partly due to the television series, were the Little House books. With the assistance of her daughter, Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote eight books about her childhood in the northern Midwest during the 1870s and 1880s. The first draft of a ninth novel, The First Four Years, was published posthumously in 1971 and is commonly included in the series. As an adult, I have better come to appreciate historical fiction. In addition, my own move to the Midwest renewed my interest in Wilder’s books. Not only have I visited tourist sites relevant to the author, but I have purchased several books written about Wilder and her series. My favorite has long been Little Town on the Prairie, due to it being about the trials of the Ingalls girls at school.

AUTHORS

Judy Blume: From the moment my dad gave me a copy of Are You There God? It’s Me Margaret, I’ve been hooked on Judy Blume. Thanks to Blume, I understand what it meant to have periods and to experience doubts in my faith. Blume’s novels have also tackled bullying, divorce, friendship, masturbation, and teen sex. Growing up, I wanted to become a Christian Judy Blume. As an adult, when I sold books to afford to move out on my own for the first time, I couldn’t bear to part with any titles by Blume. When I teach writing to my school students, I often use examples from her books to illustrate how to tell a story and develop character. Recently, my husband graced me with a signed-copy of her current adult book, In the Unlikely Event. Judy Blume will always remain one of my favorite authors.

Beverly Cleary: Perhaps because she wrote about everyday events, I didn’t appreciate Clearly until much later in life. When I sold books to move out on my own, I did sadly part with many titles by her. To my credit, I only made the mistake because I believed that I could easily replace those titles when I had my own place. The reality is that hardcover copies do not always stay readily available. I have spent the past few years, tracking down Henry Huggins and Ramona titles at used-book venues. A side benefit I suppose is that this search spurred my interest in collecting titles by Clearly that I hadn’t encountered during my childhood. I also now own her two autobiographical titles. No collection of children’s literature should be without all of Cleary’s books.

Eleanor Estes: Another writer whom I came to appreciate later in life, Estes is noted for having a rare gift for depicting everyday experiences from the fresh perspective of childhood. She’s also recognized as a writer of family stories, and as one who shaped and broadened that subgenre’s tradition. The Moffats is the first in a series of four books that tells about four young children and their mother who live in a small town in Connecticut. Their adventures are based on Estes’ memories of her childhood and focus on a working-class, single-parent American family during World War I. Each chapter in the book tells of one simple adventure the children had. The author’s influence on me can be seen on the names I bestowed on my plush toys, Ginger Pye and Pinky Pye, which are also the titles of two of her animal books.

Jean and John Craighead George: Common themes in George’s works are the environment and the natural world. Although she wrote over 100 books, I own only her earliest works. Due to my attraction to wolves, my favorite of her titles is the Julie and the Wolves trilogy. Inspiration for Julie of the Wolves apparently evolved from two specific events during a summer she spent studying wolves and tundra at the Arctic Research Laboratory of Barrow, Alaska. Wikipedia provides this quote: “One was a small girl walking the vast and lonesome tundra outside of Barrow; the other was a magnificent alpha male wolf, leader of a pack in Denali National Park. They haunted me for a year or more as did the words of one of the scientists at the lab: ‘If there ever was any doubt in my mind that a man could live with the wolves, it is gone now. The wolves are truly gentlemen, highly social and affectionate.’ “ Apparently, she wrote an autobiography, and so I must add that title to my wish list. 🙂

Marguerite Henry: Stricken with rheumatic fever at the age of six, which kept her bedridden until the age of twelve, Marguerite Henry discovered the joy of reading while she was confined indoors,. Soon afterwards, Henry also discovered a love for writing when her parents presented her with a writing desk for Christmas. All of her fans I’m sure are eternally grateful that her sickness led to a fruitful writing career. Her fifty-nine books based on true stories of horses and other animals captivated entire generations. She won the annual Newbery Medal for one of her books about horses and she was a runner-up for two others. One of the latter, Misty of Chincoteague, was the basis for several sequels and for the 1961 movie Misty. My personal favorite, perhaps just because it stood out among her multiple of titles about horses, is Cinnabar the One O’Clock Fox. When my husband and I took a trip to Arizona, Brighty of Grand Canyon also took on special significance. On my wish list is a trip to Chincoteague itself!

Apparently, an unintentional rule of mine was also to feature only those authors whose books are on my regular shelves. As such, I neglected to mention authors whose books I have separately displayed in our family library: Madeleine L’Engle and C.S. Lewis. Of course, as a reader, one never stops discovering authors. Not mentioned in this round-up are authors whose books I began collecting seriously only as an adult: Lloyd Alexander, Bill and Vera Cleaver, Gary Paulsen, E.L. Konisburg, and Katherine Paterson. I sense a part-two in the works! In the meantime, what are your favorite book collections?

2 Responses to "Ten Classic Book Collections on My Shelves"

Your article brought back many memories. Sorry about the trouble you had replacing the Beverly Cleary books which you gave to Robert and Shekinah! The only other collections they have of the ten that you listed are the “OZ” and Judy Blume ones. However they have at least one book from each of the other collections, often one (or more) given by you.

They also have a few other collections which you had when you were here, Carolyn Haywood’s “Betsy” and “Eddie” series, which you gave to them, and “The Bobbsey Twins,” “The Hardy Boys,” “Nancy Drew,” and “The Dana Girls” series, which I bought from you for them. The only collections or series which I myself have, besides “Great Books of the Western World,” are reference books.

Thank you for thoughtful response! All of the fiction collections you mentioned also enhanced my childhood reading experience. As for reference, if I were to add these, I might need to write a third article. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 313 other followers

