Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #74: Kool-Aid Days Festival

Posted on: October 17, 2015

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. Did you know that Kool-Aid was invented in Nebraska? Or that there is an annual Kool Aid Days Festival which celebrates the invention? My photos this week are from the 2015 Kool-Aid Days Festival, held at the Central Community College in Hastings, Nebraska.

After enduring a long line of traffic, my husband and I found a parking spot. Then we followed the crowds. What I found most fun about the parade was taking photos of children eager for candy. This girl even braved traffic for the sake of filling her bag with sweets.

The parade over, my husband and I bought ourselves commemorative mugs. Then we headed to the line of the World’s Largest Kool-Aid Stand. All one could drink of sixteen flavors of sweetness were available for the entire day! Our personal favorites were: Sharkleberry Fin and Purplesaurus Rex.

Prior to this year, Kool-Aid Days has been celebrated in downtown Hastings. Why switch to a college? Well, Kool-Aid Days was celebrating its 18th year and so Kool-Aid Man has now reached college age.

Inside the Dawson Gym, one could buy t-shirts, ornaments, yo-yos, and many more collectibles! While impressed with the amount of merchandise available, we settled with our mugs.

Next up, Andy and I wandered the college grounds for other ways to spend our day. Fun was available for all ages, in the form of games and entertainment.

We enjoyed the dancing exhibitions, especially when the older dancers sat on the sidelines and imitated the younger ones. I also marveled at how much stamina the dancers must possess to dance in black outside under a hot sun.

Of course, food vendors were out in numbers. Andy and I treated ourselves to sandwiches and ice-cream. Behind one vendor truck, crowds enjoyed the bubbles being released. I probably shot a few dozen photos of the sights, with a couple of the best being shared here.

8 Responses to "Snapshot #74: Kool-Aid Days Festival"

What a fun day out.

And now I’m hooked again on Kool-Aid. 😉

I had no idea! Looks like a fun festival.

Sue

Book By Book

If we go another year, we’ll probably plan on just half a day. For that length of time, yes, it was fun. 🙂

Great photos! What fun….and now I am catapulted back to the years when my kids were young, and Kool-Aid was their favorite beverage. We always had a pitcher of it in the fridge…and now, later, I think OMG! All that sugar…LOL.

Enjoy…and here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

I like to think of Kool-Aid as sweetened water. 😉

I want some candies too!

Here is my ​post

​​

My husband and I also go to a bigger parade on July 4th. We always end up with candy. There’s so much of it!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

