Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #69

Posted on: December 5, 2015

SixWordSaturday

So much to be thankful for!

I had intended to post last weekend in honor of Thanksgiving, but time got away from me. Every day, there are two types of prayers I offer to God. One is of all the things I feel appreciation for; the other is of all the requests I have. This post, I’m going to focus on the blessings.

Most of all, I thank God for my family here and in Canada. My family here consists of my husband, whose main goal in life is to make me happy, and our four pets. There are also my in-laws, who welcomed me into their home even before Andy and I married. In Canada, there is my dad who raised me to love God, books, and words. There’s also my step-mom and my siblings. When I moved to the Midwest, neither of my siblings had started school. Now they’re in college.

I also thank God for my two part-time jobs. My teaching one helps pays the bills and I sometimes enjoy it. As for writing, it rarely brings in money and I sometimes enjoy it. 😉 Of late, the latter has allowed me to meet lots of people and to speak on what I believe. Besides reading my posts here, you could check out Lincoln Animal Ambassadors, a group for whom I blog.

Speaking of, I thank God for animal groups. Almost twenty years ago, I moved to the Midwest but it’s only in the past few years I have started to feel at home here. About half of my friends on Facebook are contacts through our dog club and other animal groups. Definitely, my feeds reflect that interest.

Of course, I’m also thankful for friends. One of them I’ve known since my first job in Lincoln and she served as my maid-of-honor at my wedding. Others have come and gone. This fall our pastor encouraged members to get to know others in the church by inviting them out. I’ve met a few of my recent friends this way, along with through a writing group.

If I were to keep going, I’d also list books, libraries, fireflies, the wild outdoors, and…. many more things. What are you most thankful for?

11 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #69"

Although our Thanksgiving was almost two months ago, I’m going to respond to the question that you asked at the end of your Thanksgiving post, “What are you most thankful for?”

Like you, I thank God for my family here and elsewhere. My family here consists of my wife, our son and daughter, our two dogs, and the family of your mother. My family elsewhere includes my sister, her husband, and my stepmother in Ontario; you and your husband in United States; and my wife’s family and her young cousin whom I sponsor in the Philippines.

I also thank God for my church and the two small groups in it which I’m part of, Men’s Bible Study and the Life group which my wife and I host. Both groups provide me with a reason to spend much time studying the Bible and involvement with friends.

I also thank God for good health; friends; my library, which houses my collection of books and provides me a place to study and write; my blog; and many more things.

Thanks for your response! Health is definitely another blessing, along with our outlets for writing and sharing passions with others.

Love your post! I am most thankful for my family.

Thanks for the compliment! There’s so much more I could have shared, but I wanted to give others a turn. 😉

I laughed when you said you “sometimes” enjoy teaching.

Teaching has its days. 😉

Sometimes we need to be jolted into thanksgiving!

Not all sorrows

Me, I sometimes need to consciously push myself into thanksgiving. I tend to be a “glass is half-empty” type.

Do you teach English? I am a retired 6th grade writing teacher, and I thoroughly enjoyed the story of your life you shared through your words. I am now 77, and I still love putting my words to paper or to my blog. Have a happy weekend full of love and writing.

Thank you for the compliment on my post! To answer your question, I teach writing to elementary-aged students, both as part of the curriculum and as part of after school clubs. Isn’t writing meaningful and fun? Enjoy your weekend of writing too!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017: Focus on Cats!

All things cats ahead! I will post roundups of cat training books, cat Trap-Neuter-Release books, cat coloring books, and cat cozies. For all other animal lovers, I will also post roundups of dog cozies and zoo books.

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

