Allison's Book Bag

Animal Ambassadors: Pet Foods

Posted on: December 14, 2015

Turkey, chocolates, and punch, oh my! With the holiday season drawing near, chances are your house will be filled with all kinds of delicious and tantalizing food. While we’re trying to watch our waistlines, we also need to pay careful attention to the foods we give our pets. Below are fourteen holiday items that you should avoid allowing your dogs or cats to have….

To read more, check out my post: 14 Foods NOT to Give Your Dogs and Cats Over the Holidays

barnaby_food

You’d think with all my experience with dogs, I would consider myself a dog food expert. However, in researching this article, I realized I had a lot to learn. To a certain extent, except when dealing with medical issues, the diet need of dogs are relatively simple. Food can be categorized as wet, dry, raw, treats, and scraps. Even so, there are issues to be aware of, and what follows is an exploration of those.

To read more, check out my post: What Should You Feed Dogs?

Lucy_Water

When it comes to my experience with cats and food, God has a sense of humor. My first cat, a stray, proved finicky over food right from the start. In contrast, my second cat and a rescue, will eat pretty much anything I put in front of her and then growl to protect her food. To a certain extent, cat needs are pretty simple when it comes to food, amounting to a choice between dry, wet, raw, or a combination. Even so, there are facts to be aware of, and what follows is an elaboration of the aforementioned information based on my research and experience.

To read more, check out my post: What Should You Feed Cats?

guineapigs_saladWheek! Ah, it’s the delightful sound of guinea pigs demanding food. From 2001-2013, I was the proud owner of guinea pigs. In brief, guinea pigs need pellets, hay, vegetables, fruit, maybe a Vitamin C supplement, and of course water. What follows is an elaboration of that information based on my research and experience.

To read more, check out my post: What Should You Feed Guinea Pigs?

I wrote the above posts for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors, a volunteer organization committed to improving the lives of animals and alleviating cruelty in the local community where I live. Some of their offerings include a low-cost spay/neuter program, temporary assistance pet food bank, and education about being responsible pet guardians. The latter is where I mostly help.

What foods do you normally give your pets? What about treats? Post your own insights in the comments!

This post is part of the Small Victories line-up. Check out others by clicking on the below graphic.

SmallVictories

2 Responses to "Animal Ambassadors: Pet Foods"

I sure wish we still had our Little Bit. We would give a tiny bites of turkey. She loved turkey. We miss her so.

Excellent advice on how to keep your babies happy and healthy during the holidays and all year around.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

Chicken is also a favorite in our home with our critters. Sorry for your loss of Little Bit this fall.

Thanks for the regular visits. Have an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 306 other followers

