Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #71

Posted on: December 18, 2015

SixWordSaturday

Finding a passion in animal welfare

As a child, our family had dogs. I also loved to read about all kinds of animals. For a time, I even thought I become a naturalist or a veterinarian. Among other changes in my life, my slipping grades in science during high school wiped out those plans.

From my twenties until my forties, I always had one or two pets. As I got older, I put my foot back in animal welfare, in that I volunteered at a no-kill shelter and fed stray cats.

Slowly, I began to increase my involvement in animal welfare. My husband and I fostered. A local Trap-Neuter-Release (TNR) group accepted me as a volunteer and my responsibilities with them have increased over the year. I’ve also been writing blog posts weekly for a local animal welfare group.

When I dropped my novel this fall, my world shifted. Now I’m interviewing volunteers who help animals, researching into true stories about shelter animals, and promoting animal causes. Most recently, as part of hosting a writing club, I even wrote a superhero cat story.

A few things reassure me that I’m in the right field. My family continues to praise me for speaking in defense of animals. The more I network in the animal welfare field, the more friends I make. And, despite all the griefs of the past few years, I find myself content in this volunteer work.

We all have a voice in the world. What are you speaking up about?

4 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #71"

Sounds like you have found your niche. I am trying to be brave and talk about my health problems and awareness and the need for research for a cure.

Back when I was dealing with infertility and miscarriages, it sure helped me to here others talk about those issues and research. I’m sure you’ll bring comfort to others in talking about your health concerns.

Hubby and I volunteer in boating activities. There is a lot of work, and so few that will do that work.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

Thanks for sharing! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

