Allison's Book Bag

Current Write #3: Writing-in-Progress

Posted on: December 28, 2015

MyMuseMondayMy Muse Monday is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them. Mostly, I’ll post a monthly summary of my local writing group’s meetings. Occasionally, I’ll update you on my own writing progress.

In 2009, I began a new journey as a writer. It had been well over ten years since I had written anything for publication. Suddenly though, I found myself with part-time hours and the luxury to explore a dream.

Not being a child anymore, I started out wanting to write for a general audience. What kind of genre I didn’t know and so I explored all kinds. This led to involvement in (the now apparently defunct) Review Fuse and Zoetrope, where I met contacts who would be invaluable to the first bend in the writing road.

Whether adult concerns or voices didn’t suit my writing, I’m not sure. Whatever the situation, the feedback I received suggested I might prefer being a children’s writer. The next few years, I tried writing exclusively for young people. Some success came my way. I published two fantasy stories. One magazine showed interest in a nonfiction piece.

After dabbling in the magazine market, I decided to return to my first love. I felt tired of trying to fit stories into a word limitation. Also, as a teen, I’d written two novels. I longed to once again stretch my wings and become a novelist.

Having quit so many other projects, I determined to stick this one out. For three years, I outlined, drafted, studied, and revised. I would not quit!

Sadly, this fall, I reluctantly admitted that I felt burnt out as a writer. I also had no idea where to go next with my novel. To be honest, the topic of a delinquent teen had lost its appeal. I made the momentous decision to quit.

Having shelved my novel this past fall, I now find myself in the position of being on a journey again as a writer. This time, I actually do have a focus: animal welfare. My having spent the better half of last year being involved with local groups, those who knew me best kindly suggested this was an obvious writing choice.

Beyond knowing my focus, I have no idea what the end result will be. There will be articles. There will be stories. There might even be publications. But, I don’t know anything else. All I know is that I’ve stopped being focused on an end goal; instead for the next year at least I plan to enjoy the journey itself.

2 Responses to "Current Write #3: Writing-in-Progress"

You have to write about what you know and what you love. When you do that it’s far easier.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

Well, I started out writing about a topic that I once used to know well. For a few years, I did work with trouble young people at my teaching job. The problem is that this passion is in the past, while animal welfare is very current. Or maybe it’s just easier to understand animals. 😉 At any rate, writing about animal welfare has been far easier to do. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

