Allison's Book Bag

Current Write #8: May Writing Group

Posted on: May 30, 2016

MyMuseMonday

My Muse Monday is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them. I’ve decided for this meme to post a monthly summary of my local writing group’s meetings.

During a bakery outing with my husband, we came across Gratitude Bakery, which hosts not only delightful sweets but also open mike night. Immediately, I thought this might make a great outing for our writing group. And it was! For May, our group got together simply to relax and socialize. Three of us are teachers. That means we spent the bulk of May taking care of end-of-school-year duties and had little time to write. At our visit to Gratitude Bakery, we snacked on chocolate, listened to music, and updated one another on news.

One lady in our group has received responses from agents. Nothing positive, but at least they’re acknowledgments. A lot of places don’t even reply anymore to submissions. Another lady is still working on and submitting her rhyming picture books. And a third lady now has six chapters written in her novel. That’s substantial progress! As for me, I’ve decided to mostly stick with writing blog posts for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors for the immediate future. I might also try to turn some of those into magazine articles. If I do, I’ll ask the ladies in my group for advice.

Please check back later in the week for some news involving my job status and this blog. Enjoy the summer!

4 Responses to "Current Write #8: May Writing Group"

Sounds like a great place to meet. You had me at the goodies. Okay the chocolate.

Have a fabulous day and an even better summer. ☺

It’s a little bit of a drive for me. But I’m looking for different this summer. And that describes Gratitude Bakery!

Sounds like a pleasant evening. Best wishes in fulfilling your writing plans. Have a good summer.

Yes, it was a nice evening! Next month, there’s an open mic for writers, and so we might return. Thanks for your support.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

