Allison's Book Bag

Current Write #9: Writing-in-Progress

Posted on: August 22, 2016

MyMuseMonday

My Muse Monday is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them. Mostly, I’ll post a monthly summary of my local writing group’s meetings. Occasionally, I’ll update you on my own writing progress.

A year ago, I made the decision to focus on writing for animal welfare, and shared here that I had no idea what the end result would be. “There will be articles. There will be stories. There might even be publications. But, I don’t know anything else. All I know is that I’ve stopped being focused on an end goal; instead for the next year at least I plan to enjoy the journey itself.”

This past spring, two concrete developments happened. First, the animal welfare group I blog for asked me to take on the role of Media Chair. Duties will include submitting a monthly article to our local newspaper’s pet section, fund-raiser details to media event calendars, and setting up television spots to promote fund-raisers. Other initiatives I’ve taken on as part of being their blogger is creating a table of contents for our blog and finding guest bloggers.

Second, I enrolled in a journalism course called Feature Writing in the Digital Age. Assignments will require me to:

  • SECTION 1
    • Exercise 1: Write a rough outline of a feature article on a topic of your choice.
    • Exercise 2: Imagine you’re a celebrity reporter. Write two paragraphs introducing You, the hot new star.
  • SECTION 2
    • Exercise 1: Brainstorm three different ideas. Generate at least two different angles for each.
    • Exercise 2: Using one of your angles as the topic, suggest an appropriate feature form.
  • SECTION 3
    • Exercise 1: Write two different ledes based on one of the angles you developed in Lesson Two. Which one do you like better? Why?
    • Exercise 2: Write two similar ledes, in a different voice. Imagine you’re covering the same topic for two very different magazines.
  • SECTION 4
    • Exercise 1: Develop a query for a how-to article.
    • Exercise 2: Write a 600-word how-to article on a topic of your choice.
  • SECTION 5
    • Exercise 1: Select an interesting person to interview.
    • Exercise 2: Write a 600-word profile of a person or business.
  • SECTION 6
    • Exercise 1: Choose an incident from your life and write a 600-1,000 word essay based on your experience.
    • Exercise 2: Write a 600-word op-ed on a timely issue. Include statistics or facts to support your opinion.

In addition to being online, a perk is there aren’t any set deadlines other than I need to complete the course in a year.

I have set two more goals for this fall. First, visit a local shelter and write creative profiles of homeless pets I meet. A calendar date called Dogust inspired this idea. See Universal Birthday for Shelter Dogs for more details. Second, become a pet-sitter as a way to gain more experience and education with animals. I’ll keep you posted!

 

4 Responses to "Current Write #9: Writing-in-Progress"

I’ll await your posts. I always love reading about the wonderful stories that can and do come out of shelters.

I know you’ll do well.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

Thanks for the encouragement! You’re always very supportive.

Best wishes with the course.

Thanks! I need to get working soon on the second section.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

