Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #85: Salmonid Interpretation Center

Posted on: August 26, 2016

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. When browsing the Salmonid Interpretation Center, where we annually purchase souvenirs for friends, we realized that Andy hadn’t actually seen the center or its salmon ladder. So, we squeezed in a visit.

The salmon ladder allows salmon bypass the dam to they can swim up the Exploits River to spawn. The salmon are drawn to the salmon ladder naturally because they are wired to swim against the current.

While most of the salmon ladder at the Salmonid Interpretation Center is covered by metal grating, right next to the center there’s an uncovered holding area. Here, visitors can watch the salmon leap into the holding area. Andy and I spent a lot of time here trying to get photos of “flying” salmon.

Visitors can also go to the lower level of the interpretation area to get an underwater view of the holding area through large windows. It was easier to get photos of the salmon here.

Originally the Exploits had few Atlantic Salmon because of the large waterfalls in Bishop’s Falls and at the Grand Falls. Thanks in part to the salmon ladder, a returning run of 1,500 in the late 1970s has grown to 35,000 adult fish today. We’ve never before been so fascinated by fish!

14 Responses to "Snapshot #85: Salmonid Interpretation Center"

I’ve never even heard of a salmon ladder, let alone seen one! Of course I know that they swim upstream to spawn, which does seem a rather fraught way to go about things- all those great photos of bears lying gin wait… What a fascinating thing to see. I think visiting a salmon ladder has gone straight to my wishlist.

I’m delighted to have given you an activity to add to your bucket list. 🙂 Thanks for your visit!

What an interesting place. I remember going to see a Salmon Leap in Scotland, when I was a child. Vivid memory.

From the comments, seems as if there are Salmon Ladders in many different places. Wow!

Wow, looks like a fascinating place! Great that they found a way to help the salmon repopulate the area. Thanks for sharing!

Hope you are enjoying a great weekend –

Sue

Book By Book

Thanks for the visit! Tomorrow my husband and I are dedicating the day to family time. That will make the weekend for me. 🙂

I’ve seen a salmon ladder here in Washington State, but it was a long time ago and I don’t remember where! Regardless, it was awesome to watch the fish forging upstream. What a great solution to bring back the salmon.

We were surprised by how long we ended up staying at The Salmonid Interpretation Center. There’s apparently another salmon ladder in Newfoundland too. Weather kept us from visiting it this summer, but it’s on our wish list for another year.

Interesting and informative. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for checking out my post! I’m proud of my town and its success with The Salmonid Interpretation Center.

It’s fascinating to me that salmon are hardwired to go against the current.

Here’s my Saturday Snapshot!

Isn’t nature fascinating? 🙂

I would have loved to see this. I’ve seen pictures, but never seen the real thing. Awesome.

Have a fabulous day and weekend. ☺

Andy and I ended up spending a few hours at the Salmonid Interpretation Center. I enjoyed his excitement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

