Allison's Book Bag

Current Write #10: October Writing Meeting

Posted on: October 24, 2016

MyMuseMonday

My Muse Monday is a fun meme where writers can meet other like-minded writers and share what they’ve been working on and how the week has gone for them. Mostly, I’ll post a monthly summary of my local writing group’s meetings.

Ironically, given that the majority of us in the group are teachers, our group failed to find time to meet over the summer months. When we finally did meet, we had nothing to share. And so we talked a lot about how to kick-start ourselves again as writers.

I shared about a book called Time to Write by Kelly Stone that I read years ago. Of the many ideas that I took away from it, one was to treat writing like a job. That means one has to write something every day, no matter how uninspired, tired, or busy one is. Results of my taking that advice to heart was a journal and my commitment to Allison’s Book Bag. Then there was my young adult novel which I worked on for three years and currently there’s my posts for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors.

But finding time to write doesn’t have to result in anything grand. It could mean simply writing five minutes per day. One lady thought she could brainstorm picture book ideas on a daily basis and another could add to her novel. A third was like me, in between projects, but we both thought we could come with something….

Except I know my life has been an unexpected whirlwind this fall. Writing fell to the back burner and I’ve dreadfully missed it. I hear from the other ladies that the same as happened. So I don’t know what November will bring. What keeps you writing or committed to your passion?

4 Responses to "Current Write #10: October Writing Meeting"

It’s the making time that’s key. Often I make time for stuff that really isn’t all that important. It’s easy, but not important. It’s the hard stuff that needs to be tackled each day and it sounds like writing may be a love, but it’s a hard thing.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

I wonder if it’s making time and having a passion combined that make it work. I know at least for a couple of the ladies in the group, finding a project that they love has been just as critical as finding time to how much committed they become.

It’s really rather complicated. For me, I do have a project but it’s so time-consuming the trick as been to figure out how to break it into manageable parts.

Since writing has been an integral part of your life since you were a little girl, hopefully it’ll move back to a front burner.

Keep watch at Lincoln Animal Ambassadors! I’ve started working through a backlog of interviews. Once those are done, I’m not sure what writing will go on my plate. It’ll kind of depend on my work situation.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

