Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #80

Posted on: November 11, 2016

SixWordSaturday

Looking for my next dream job

In October, I surprised many of my friends by posting this message at Facebook: “Big news! I’ve resigned my teaching position. Now I’m searching for my new dream job. I wonder what it will be…?”

In the spring of 2005, I had proudly walked across the stage to receive my Master of Education. With my degree came my Special Education teacher certification. A teaching position was already lined up too, a full-time one in a small town.

Three years later, I walked down the aisle to marry my best friend, and then packed up my bags for the next adventure. From 2008-2016, I taught part-time in a variety of schools within one school district. I thought that just as my dad had made teaching a career, so would I. But the education world kept changing and slowly my passion for it died.

Now I’m rediscovering myself again. Will I find a job where I write? Work with animals? Or both? Will I find a job which relies on my communication skills? Draws on my interest in non-profits? Or both? I don’t know.

Since October, I have been working hard to network. I joined Linked-In. I’ve also created a spreadsheet of all the companies that interest me and have begun to slowly contact them.

In addition, I have been working hard to develop new skills. I’m learning new design software. I’m also trying to figure out the business side of social media.

While looking for my new job, I’ve tried to keep up with my two blogs. Three posts a week at Allison’s Book Bag seems about right. Although my articles for Lincoln Animal Ambassadors have been hit and miss, I’m now working on a series about local pet services, and am excited about my new planned content.

That’s my fall! How about yours?

6 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #80"

Kudos to you for your Education degree….I worked for a communications company for over 20 years and I had the work philosophy that if a job wasn’t fun to make it fun and if I could not, then it was time to change what I was doing-fortunately it was a big enough corporation that I could just transfer over to a new position….. not so easy these days…I commend you for making this change- teaching isn’t as rewarding as it used to be what with the government meddling in what should be left to the schools. Good luck!~

I once had the philosophy too that if a job wasn’t fun it was time to change. It can be a darn hard decision though when one used to love their job and when switching might mean starting over at entry-level. 😦

But you’re right that teaching isn’t what it used to be. Being part of a larger school district, I even tried the option of switching schools. It worked for a couple of months and then it was clear that it was time to leave education all together.

On the bright side, there are creative jobs out there. So, adventure lies ahead!

If you aren’t doing something you love then you need to find something that you do love. I applaud you for doing just that.

I was a cop for 25 years and that’s what I loved. I would not love it today as cops are something to kill, but I loved it then.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

I respect that you were a cop. It’s a tough field. Some of my friends are currently ones.

It seems like a lot of professions get less respect these days. I’m sorry for how society has changed.

Thanks for the visit. I always appreciate hearing from you!

sometimes the toughest thing to do is to walk away from what you are use to so the hard part is behind you and I am sure you will be ok the best is yet to come

The decision to resign took about a year. I expect the decision about my next career will take a lot less time. 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog and for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

