Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #91: When Andy and I First Met

Posted on: November 18, 2016

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. My husband and I met through an online dating service. As our relationship got serious, we started celebrating every possible moment. Besides exchanging gifts on special occasions such as Valentine’s, we also remembered the first time we exchanged photos, the first time we talked on the phone, and of course the first time we uttered those momentous words: “I love you.”

Fast forward about twenty years and neither of us remembers most of the firsts. But we do remember when we first exchanged letters and that’s what this post is about. Twenty years this past October, my husband and I first met online.

To celebrate, my husband uploaded some screenshots to Facebook of the website that brought us together. (Thank you, Internet Archive Wayback Machine). I’ve posting those shots and his descriptions here for your entertainment. Obviously we were attracted to this site by the price (free!) and not its appearance.

yaronscreen1

yaronscreen2

The dating website provided two ways to fill out its questionnaire. There was a downloadable DOS program, which is what Andy used. After answering all 155 questions, it would save a data file which then had to be emailed back to them. I used the online questionnaire.

yaronscreen3

yaronscreen4

What we both really liked about this site, besides that it was free, was how detailed and thorough the questions were. You could indicate what qualities you wanted, and which of those qualities were preferred, and for each thing you could say how important it was to you.

Both of us said we wanted to be matched with someone nearby, so of course a Nebraska boy was matched with a Newfoundland girl. Just 2,500 miles apart, no big deal.–Andy

The site still exists. It’s no longer free, but at least they updated the design. Enjoy! http://computer-dating.com/

Besides reliving old memories on the 20th anniversary of when we first met, Andy and I also had a full weekend. We attended a dog trial that a friend of mine holds. The trial tested dogs on their ability in tracking, obedience, and protection. We went to a library book sale. I started my collection of mystery cozies. We went to a fundraising photography shoot. Our toy poodle, Barnaby, had his first professional portrait taken. We also watched scary movies, ate out at our favorite sushi place, and treated ourselves to a visit to Yogurtini. A perfect anniversary!

14 Responses to "Snapshot #91: When Andy and I First Met"

Oh wow! First off, congrats on 20 years. Secondly, I’m amazed your husband was able to find those screen shots!

Thanks for the congrats! My husband is a whiz with computers. If something can be found online, he’s the one who will do it. 😉

Happy Anniversary! I think it was very progressive of you to use computer dating. Although lots of people use it today, I don’t think it was as common 20 years ago. My husband and I are really bad at remembering anniversaries. We were married in August, and fairly often are on holiday, and so distracted by that.

Thanks for the anniversary wishes! My husband and I are pretty good at remembering our anniversaries, but can be bad at celebrating birthdays. His falls near the end of the school year and mine falls in the summer. So, we’re often distracted too. 😉

I met my hubby on the internet, too, but it wasn’t a dating service; it was on a forum board, of all places! Congrats on all your milestones!

Actually, my dad is the one who introduced me to the online dating service. He heard out it first on a discussion board!

I participated in computer dating during college, back in the late 1960s (before people had computers in their homes). I actually went out with two or three guys. It was a fun experience; however, I met my husband through a friend. We’ve been married 46 years this December, so random match-ups do sometimes work!
My Saturday Snapshot post is HERE.

Congrats on 46 years of marriage! For introverts like my husband and myself, computer dating was our salvation. If not for it, we might still both be lonely and single. 😦 Lots of fun relationship stories out there!

Congratulations, and thanks for sharing your “firsts,” especially the online aspect. What fun!

Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

Thanks! I’m impressed with my husband for finding original versions of the dating program we used. 🙂

Hubby and I do the same. In fact tomorrow is our 20 years to the first time he said he loved me. We are of course going out to dinner with friends to celebrate.

Have a fabulous day and happy anniversary on your special occasion. ☺

Early happy anniversary! You and your husband are obviously close. That’s very special to have. Thanks for sharing.

Congratulations on a perfect anniversary!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

