Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #82

Posted on: December 10, 2016

SixWordSaturday

Great first week at new job!

This past Monday, I started my position as a part-time church administrative assistant. One of the perks is that I’m receiving on-the-job-training. The former assistant will be there about ten hours per week for the rest of the month. She’ll also be available to answer questions in the year ahead about projects I might not encounter in December.

So far, I’ve answered phone calls, sorted through mail, prepared meeting reminders, and reserved rooms. I’ve also edited and printed various publications such as bulletins, posters, and newsletters. There were a few projects for which I compiled handouts. During the week, I got familiar with the office layout, took lots of notes, and browsed some manuals. I’ve also met several church members.

Another perk is that the work ebbs and flows. It’s pretty busy on Monday, because the church office is closed over the weekend. By mid-week, everything wound down, and I had time to experiment with software and with publication design. It got hectic again on Thursday, with lots of calls and visitors. I like the variety.

That’s my week! How about yours?

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

