Allison's Book Bag

Critter Photo #23

Posted on: December 12, 2016

AwwwMondays-Puppy-AvatarWith our household of critters having expanded to include three cats and a dog, I thought it fitting to join a meme related to pets. After searching around, I came across Awww….. Mondays. The one rule is: “Post a picture that makes you say Awww…. and that’s it.” Every photo seemed to feature a pet and so the meme is a perfect.

rainy_birdtoyWhee! Rainy loves to play. She’ll bounce on linen when the bed is being made. She’ll grab at toys that go whizzing through the air. She’ll jump from our recliner to the cat tower and stick her head through cubbies. Depending on her mood, she might also pounce on pens. Or leap at drawstrings on clothes. Or tackle any cat that comes into sight. Rainy is non-stop energy!

bootsie_birdtoyHere are photos from one day when Bootsie and Rainy were playing with their toys. Bootsie hid in the lowest cat tower cubby. Rainy raced about the carpet. I tossed a danger toy towards Bootsie and then towards Rainy. Each took a turn playing with the dangler. As the play grew wilder, Bootsie caught the dangler with her front paws and hugged it to her chest. Rainy then watched for a moment when Bootsie relaxed her grip. Then she dove for the toy, yanked it free with her mouth, and tossed it to the ground.

Purr! Rainy loves to snuggle. She’ll curl up on my lap when I read. She’ll stretch out next to my toes when Andy and I watch TV. She’ll lay on my chest at night to snooze. Depending on what’s tantalizing her, she might also head butt me when I’m eating food. Or climb on my back when I’m typing at my laptop. Or wrap her paws around me when I’m feeling upset. Rainy is a love machine!

rainy_allisonsbackHere’s a photo from one of the more unusual places Rainy will lodge herself. When I’m use my laptop, I have a habit of standing in place and just leaning forward to type. One day, I felt a thump and then claws. Rainy had jumped on my back! She then stayed there until I needed to move and so straightened up. Since that time, I’ve taught her to do this feat as a trick. I just have to tell her “Get on my back!” and she’ll clamber up. We’re also working on: “Get on my shoulder!”

Want to start your week off with a smile? Visit Comedy Plus or Burnt Food Dude and see what others are sharing today.

 

2 Responses to "Critter Photo #23"

Awww, I would love Rainy too. So adorable she is and I love a love cat. I had one many years ago.

Have a purrfect Awww Monday. 🙂

We originally intended just to foster Rainy. She had other ideas! A year ago, Rainy wiggled her way into our hearts and declared us her forever family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 300 other followers

