Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #92: Baby Album: My Parents

Posted on: December 16, 2016

Almost four years ago, I joined Saturday Snapshot. The meme invites bloggers to share photos. For a long time now, I’ve been wanting to create a memory scrapbook from my childhood. This seemed like the right forum.

Let me begin with photos of two of the people most important in my life: my mom (who died when I was four) and my dad. From the photos I’ve selected, you might think I did nothing as a child but sit. I’m sure these were the exceptions! In fact, I know I did other stuff but to you’ll have to check back each week to see what else. 😉

allisonmom_bed

allisondad_sofa

A reason that I never gotten started before on my scrapbook project is the constraints of time. When I first started participating in this meme, I not only selected photos to share that were from several years back and ones that were more unusual, but my entries were also only about a paragraph in length. If I can resume that routine, maybe I can make this project work!

8 Responses to "Snapshot #92: Baby Album: My Parents"

I treasure my old photos, and enjoy looking at other people’s too. I’m sure the pictures you have of your mom are priceless to you. LOVE your dad’s fancy shoes in the second photo!
My Saturday Snapshot post is HERE.

A reason I wanted to start this photo project is it would motivate me to scan my old photo albums. The only photos I have of my mom are printed ones. I’d hate to lose them.

I love old photos and shots that bring back special moments. Thanks for sharing, and here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

I love old photos too! After seeing you share so many of yours as part of Saturday Snapshot, I felt inspired to follow suit. 🙂

I love old photographs. All ours are in black and white. Early 50s there wasn’t color.

I’m sorry you lost your mother when you were very young.

Have a fabulous day. ☺

You prompted me to do some research. Seems as if color didn’t become the norm until the 1960’s. These photos are from the late 60’s.

Thanks for the condolences. 🙂 Have a fabulous weekend!

Best wishes with the project!

I’ve always enjoyed looking at old photos. Sometimes they bring up questions. Other times they give me story ideas. About a year ago when trying to find creative ways to stay in touch with family, I scanned a few old albums with the idea of creating scrapbooks. Now I’m finally going to try the project!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

