Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #84

Posted on: January 7, 2017

SixWordSaturday

Taking a marketing class; more adventure!

This past fall has been a whirlwind. I walked away from my career as a teacher, accepted a job as an administrative assistant at a church, and did a lot of soul-searching. As a result of the latter, I decided to return to school.

While I don’t intend to pursue a diploma, I do have focused goals with my classes. For one strand, I plan to take marketing classes. After six years of blogging, promotion has become natural to me, and now I want to improve how I do it. Whatever walks of life I take, it seems that marketing could be of help. In both the workforce and in volunteer organizations, there’s always a need for individuals who can enhance awareness of a group’s services and/or bring in more contributions. For the other strand, it should come as no surprise to anyone, I plan to take journalism classes. Over the past few years, through writing nonfiction, I have fallen in love with writing in different formats and for different audiences. I want to continue this journey on a more professional level with classes.

As for this semester, I’m taking Marketing Basics. Just on the first day, I’ve already learned a lot, although not in the way you might think. You see, that first day overwhelmed me. I’m the type of person who likes to plan ahead and this course didn’t really allow me that luxury. On the very first day, we received two sets of assignments, one with a deadline of this weekend and the other the middle of next week. All I could feel was panic, but then I forced myself to read through the syllabus, the timeline, the assignments, and to figure out the big picture. Turns out, it’s not so bad. Every week, there will normally be two questions to answer about one chapter in our text, and students will need to respond to each other’s answers. Otherwise, the big task will be the end-of-quarter assignments.

What lays ahead besides my new job and my classes, I have no idea. All I know is adventure lies ahead and I’ve got my family, friends, and God to support me. Oh, and that I’ll be here, sharing my journey with all of you. 🙂

11 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #84"

Best wishes in the courses.

It’ll be a couple years of lots of learning!

Good luck with the course!

I’m both scared and excited. 🙂

Exciting prospects. Enjoy the journey!

Sounds like new things with the New Year.

I also have a couple new volunteer ventures that I’m undertaking, but will wait to share those until they’re more stable. Happy New Year!

I hope you find what you’re looking for. Careers should be fun and doing what you love. I’ve a feeling that you’re heading in that direction.

Have a fabulous weekend. ☺

Whatever happens, I’m enjoying the journey. That’s a huge positive! Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

