Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #94: Happy Proposal Anniversary!

Posted on: February 3, 2017

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. On February 2, American folklore says that one will know if there will be six more weeks of winter. Groundhog Day is also the day back in 2009 that my husband proposed to me.

proposal_andyAt the time I lived in Beatrice. Andy would drive out every Friday night to spend the weekend. We’d eat meals together, watch shows and play games, and go for walks at Chautauqua Park.

Every outing to the park was different. Sometimes we’d find interesting leaves or twigs. Other times, we’d see geese, spiders, and an occasional deer. The year he proposed we spotted eagles and even a groundhog.

I had no idea that he was going to propose. In my mind, we were simply going for a walk as normal, except I thought it’d overly cold. When Andy asked me to take a break to sit on a bench, I was ready to keep going because the exercise would keep us warm. But then he surprised me with a ring!

This February 2, we spent like most typical work days. We headed off to our separate jobs. In the evening, we had separate activities–him cribbage and me Bible Study. When we finally got to relax together, we watched a show and snacked. Then just before bed, he surprised me with a “Happy Proposal Day!” card. The perfect way to fall asleep. 🙂

proposalanniversary

There are no benches and no snow, but this made me think of that park in Beatrice on a cold Groundhog Day nine years ago. Thank you for saying, “YES!” Happy Proposal Day! Love, Andy.

6 Responses to "Snapshot #94: Happy Proposal Anniversary!"

How sweet! So glad that you two celebrate that meaningful day, and with a cute card, too. Congrats! Here’s MY SATURDAY SNAPSHOT POST

My husband claims he has a bad memory, but he always remembers special dates. Yes, he’s very sweet!

Happy Proposal Anniversary to Andy and you!

What a lovely thing he did. Your smile says it all too.

Have a fabulous day and Happy Proposal day. 🙂

Andy has a knack for coming up with unique and special ways to surprise me. He saw the company LovePop, which makes cards like the one he gave me, advertised online. He checked them out and liked what they made. And now I have a beautiful card!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

