Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #98: Baby Album: Grandparents

Posted on: March 17, 2017

Four years ago, I joined Saturday Snapshot. The meme invites bloggers to share photos. One of my new year’s resolutions was to create a memory scrapbook from my childhood. I intend for the project to be a work-in-progress, where I mostly post in order of scanned photos. So far, I have posted about my parents, our family dog, and personal interests. Next up are photos of my grandparents.

These photos are particularly meaningful, because none of my grandparents are still alive. The first photo was taken near the time I had been christened, and is of my grandparents on my mom’s side. They both met Andy, but long before I moved to Nebraska to date and eventually marry him. I know they both would have been proud. The second photo seems to have been taken before my parents flew to Ontario to visit relatives on my dad’s side.

The third photo is of my grandparents on my dad’s side. Although she was a step-mom to my dad, I only knew my grandmother and so to me she was always my Nan. My Poppy Hunter never met Andy, but my Nanny Hunter did when Andy and I attended a wedding of a cousin. This photo seems to be around the time of my first birthday.

In my next Saturday Snapshot, I’ll post about my other relatives, all of whom I still get to visit. Enjoy the week!

4 Responses to "Snapshot #98: Baby Album: Grandparents"

What great photos. I love your grandmother’s christening outfit. Those were the days! I only knew two of my grandparents, those early photos are special.

Grandparents are an important part of a person’s life. I miss mine.

Lovely photos of your grandparents. I just love looking at my old family photos, especially to remind me of those who are no longer here. Thanks for sharing.

Sue

Book By Book

There was a time that I used to annually look at old photos and journals. Then I got too busy, or I don’t know what happened, but I’m enjoying reliving old memories again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 290 other followers

