Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday #85

Posted on: April 14, 2017

SixWordSaturday

Nonfiction journey: finished a journalism course

When I dropped my novel back in August of 2015, I began a journey into nonfiction. As part of that journey, I decided to take an online journalism course from University of Wisconsin. The one I took focused on digital feature writing.

There were six units to the course. The first assignment required me to create an outline of an article. I submitted an outline for an article I’d already written for a blog post, but thought I might turn into a submission for a professional pet magazine.

The next assignment required me to research markets of interest and write a query. Knowing that I wanted to build my reputation before I submitted to professional pet magazines, I researched local publications. In doing so, I discovered that pet care articles were already being carried. What I decided to offer instead were training articles and spotlights on unsung workers in the animal welfare world. What most excited me about this assignment is I submitted my first query.

The third assignment required me to write ledes for the article I had proposed in my query. My ledes were to be written for different audiences. We have a local kids publication and a local seniors publication. I wrote my ledes with those two publications in mind.

The remaining units required me to write full-length pieces: how to article, profile interview, personal experience, and opinion. Naturally, I wrote articles that I could use at my animal welfare blog and/or submit to local publications. I covered topics that had been of interest to me for some time: pet training, pet volunteers, and social media. Here’s the link to my article on social media: Does Social Media Help or Hurt Homeless Animals?

Next week, I’ll share a publishing success that arose from my now completed course. Check out other reader posts at a new SWS home: Travel with Intent.

4 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday #85"

Laying the groundwork for what you intend to do is key. Very smart of you for taking this course.

Have a fabulous day, Happy Easter. ☺

My two-year plan is to take a series of marketing courses, followed by more journalism courses. Enjoy the Easter season!

Well done Alison. I look forward to next week’s update.
Happy Easter!

Thanks. Enjoy the Easter season!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017: Focus on Cats!

All things cats ahead! I will post roundups of cat training books, cat Trap-Neuter-Release books, cat coloring books, and cat cozies. For all other animal lovers, I will also post roundups of dog cozies and zoo books.

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

