Allison's Book Bag

Critter Photo #34

Posted on: April 17, 2017

With our household of critters having expanded to include three cats and a dog, I thought it fitting to join a meme related to pets. After searching around, I came across Awww….. Mondays. The one rule is: “Post a picture that makes you say Awww…. and that’s it.” Every photo seemed to feature a pet and so the meme is a perfect fit!

Over the past month, I’ve shared that there’s a little bit of me in all my cats. I talked about the reclusive but social Cinder, and the scared but curious Bootsie. Now let me turn to our youngest cat, Rainy! As much as I love her, I struggled the most to figure out what we had in common. Finally, I came up with her determination and friendliness.

Rainy’s determination has been her salvation. When Rainy found herself alone has a kitten, she sought out help. Even though that took the form of a lady with dogs, Rainy didn’t let the scary situation stop her. She needed shelter, and so she marched straight up to the lady. Long story short, that lady contacted me, and that’s how Rainy became ours. Similarly, I have taken on risky adventures with perfect endings. In 1998, I left my home province of Newfoundland and moved to Nebraska, where for the first time I lived on my own. Now I am happily married, with a full life. Rainy’s determination can also get her into trouble. She’s the only cat whom we haven’t been able to train to stay out of the garbage, stay away from our food, stay off the counters…. You get the picture. She’s certainly given us lots of memories! As for me, I have a stubborn streak too. Sometimes that streak keeps me going until I find a resolution, which is useful for finding a job and other good things. Unfortunately, there are also times when I don’t just know when to give up.

Rainy’s friendliness is one of her most endearing traits. When she first came to our home, we skipped right over the normal practice of isolating cats from each other to give them time to get acquainted. Instead we opened her crate, and let her strut into the living room. Long story short, Rainy got our other two cats to accept her and each other, and that’s how Rainy became ours. As an introvert, I don’t have her same skill. Yet I have my moments. Back when I took a desktop publishing class, I took the initiative to introduce myself to everyone on the first day. Everyone was surprised afterwards to learn that I’m a shy person in new situations. Rainy’s friendliness isn’t always welcomed. During her first few months with us, Rainy tried often to snuggle with Barnaby. I swear that in every photo of the two of them together, Barnaby has the pained look of an older brother being forced to hang out with his younger sister. What I admire most about Rainy is that she’s unflappable. Even though some friendships don’t stick, Rainy will keep on acting as if everyone loves her. As for me, I try like her to be friendly with everyone. But I don’t have her grace. I get easily hurt, and retreat from the world far more often than her. Then it’s helpful to have loving family and friends … and examples like Rainy to show the way.

Want to start your week off with a smile? Visit Comedy Plus or Burnt Food Dude and see what others are sharing today.

2 Responses to "Critter Photo #34"

My kind of cat. Yep, we’d get along fine. She reminds me of one of our other participants. His name is Baxter and he owns Louise at Country Pictures. That was my first though.

A huge Awww to a cat that I would love to have.

Have a purrfect Awww Monday. My best to your peeps. ☺

Of the four cats which I’ve been privileged to care for, Rainy is the most outgoing and active. Later this year, she might end up doing therapy and agility. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Spring Reviews

Almost a year after I announced that it was time to take a step back from this blog, Allison's Book Bag is still here. I'm slowly working back up to weekly reviews again. Each week, there will be one under any of these categories: Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, religious books, or diversity books. Some will come in the form of single reviews and others in the form of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Freddy the Frogcaster and the Terrible Tornado by Janice Dean
  • The Distance Between Us by Reya Grande
  • Hearts of Fire from The Voice of Matyrs

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 295 other followers

