Allison's Book Bag

Critter Photo #36

Posted on: July 17, 2017

With our household of critters having expanded to include three cats and a dog, I thought it fitting to join a meme related to pets. After searching around, I came across Awww….. Mondays. The one rule is: “Post a picture that makes you say Awww…. and that’s it.” Every photo seemed to feature a pet and so the meme is a perfect fit!

“What’s up?” I asked Bootsie. She stared up at the ceiling. I laid my laptop to the side and stood up to check on her. Our oldest cat has been known to chase spiders, while our youngest has a thing for bugs. Most of our cats have brought us mice. Maybe Bootsie’s predator instinct has kicked in.

Following her gaze, I looked upwards, but I saw nothing except the reflection of the light from our living room lamp. Bootsie paced the floor, tail twitching, and uttered a low meow. I smiled and patted her head. Our first cat used to chase unseen creatures too. In fact, it was one of only two times when she’d sprint through the house. The other was when she’d relieved herself in the litter box. “Crazy cat,” I teased and returned to the recliner to work.

A few minutes later, Bootsie shook herself. She plodded my way and jumped up beside me. With her head, she nudged my hands, convincing me to make room for her on my lap. Except no soon than I had repositioned my laptop to allow room for her then she leaped to the floor. Back to the wall Bootsie headed, her meows now more plaintive.

I sighed. Cats apparently do have better vision than humans. They do see things we don’t, I reasoned, as I once again followed her gaze. But once again I saw nothing. Or did I? Using my one hand to shield the light from my eyes, I took another long look at our white walls. Lo and behold, where the ceiling and wall intersected, a moth flapped. “You get that moth!” I whispered to Bootsie and then sat back to watch and wait.

Want to start your week off with a smile? Visit Comedy Plus or Burnt Food Dude and see what others are sharing today.

2 Responses to "Critter Photo #36"

They do see far better than we do. She knew something was amiss and wanted you to know as well. Too cute.

Hope you had a great Awww Monday. ☺

In my journal entry that inspired this story, I wrote that maybe our first cat hadn’t seen invisible creatures. Maybe instead just like Bootsie she’d seen a moth or some creature that I had missed. Have a PURRfect week!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

