Allison's Book Bag

Snapshot #60: Cats, Crafts, Glass

Posted on: March 7, 2015

Saturday Snapshot invites bloggers to share photos. On February 28, a friend of mine and me spent a couple of hours at an Art Night painting glass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pictured above are some samples from our hostess. Stencils and drawings were provided, along with brushes, sponges, paints, and lots of other supplies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time a friend of mine joined me. Ingrid was my maid-of-honor at my wedding and is a long-time best friend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This time I also took photos of others and their work. The cost for the night was only $10 and bring your own glass! All money went straight to our local no-kill Cat House. The lady in charge is an art teacher and contributed all of her own supplies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few of us were inspired by this design, painted using sponges and Q-tips.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I spent most of the evening decorating the champagne bottle. By the time I got to my vase, I decided just to go for an abstract look.

9 Responses to "Snapshot #60: Cats, Crafts, Glass"

What an awesome idea. Love that the money went to a great cause. I have never tried painting on glass but it looks like a lot of fun.

Sean at His and Her Hobbies

My first time to paint on glass! It allowed me to be more creative than I expected.

That looks like a lot of fun, and for a really good cause.

That looks like so much fun, especially with a friend. I hope the event raised a lot of money.
Sandy @ TEXAS TWANG

The more the merrier!

What a fun project – I need to Google this now to see what paints are used. You are giving me ideas for our Wine and Words event this fall 🙂

Our hostess liked that fact I post the designs online, because maybe they’d inspire others. Glad to hear you’ve been inspired. 😉

The paints we used were folk art enamels. You should be able to get them at a craft store.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Summer Reviews

Books can take connect us with strangers, take us to unique places, and introduce us to new ideas. They can also offer hope in a chaotic world. And so I must share what I read!

Each week, I’ll introduce you to religious books, Advanced Reader Copies, animal books, or diversity books. Some I’ll review as singles and others as part of round-ups. Just ahead, there will be reviews of:

  • Joni: The unforgettable story of a young woman’s struggle against quadriplegia & depression by Joni Eareckson
  • The True Story of the World’s Most Beloved Animal Sanctuary by Samantha Glen
  • Brothers in hope : the story of the Lost Boys of Sudan–refugees by Mary Williams
  • The Inner Life of Cats by Thomas McNamee

Categories

Archives

Cat Writers’ Association
Artists Helping Animals

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 310 other followers

