Allison's Book Bag

Six-Word Saturday Meme #22

Posted on: August 17, 2013

SixWordSaturday

All peaceful on the school front

I’m exhausted, but in a good way. It’s been a hectic two weeks!

Two weeks ago, school started for teachers. Because I’m at a new school this year, I went in a day ahead to set up my room. The rest of the week mostly involved workshops, along with a few meetings. On the night after Open House, I went home and told my husband, “I’m going to bed.” It was only 8:30, but I felt mentally wiped. That describes my first week.

A week ago, the students came. As a resource teacher, I wasn’t expected to have lessons prepared yet. Instead, my main job was to pop into classrooms, get the feel of the curriculum, and meet the students on my caseload. Easy enough!

Or so I expected. As the week drew near to an end, I started having more and more conversations with the teachers for the grades whom I’ll serve. We soon realized that some more schedule decisions needed to be made. It was just yesterday, when I finally got my permanent schedule of classes that I’ll teach.

I start classes on Monday. Any guesses about how I’ve spent my Saturday?

At least though, I can list all of these accomplishments for the past two weeks: I can find my way around my new school. All my students have met me and seen my room. After several mammoth meetings, my schedule has finally been worked out. Materials that I’ll immediately need have been printed or at least sent to the print shop. And, thanks to hours today, lessons are good to go.

Partly because of these hectic two weeks, I did a lot of thinking about this blog and other writing commitments. In the future, my posts will be just as varied but less frequent. I’m also trying to keep more evenings open for unstructured time. I guess I’m showing my age, because I find myself needing to slow down on a regular basis.

That’s my week. What about yours?

6 Responses to "Six-Word Saturday Meme #22"

All I can say is, hurray for teachers! I don’t know how you do it, but I’m glad you do.

Your praise is much appreciated! Certain times are more hectic than others, such as start up of a new year and report card time. At the moment, it’s time to know Labor Day is right around the corner. 🙂

That does sound like a busy two weeks. All the best for your classes on Monday.
Dropping by from 6WS

Thanks! My teaching life has finally started to settle into a routine. Whew.

I hope you can continue with Six Word Saturday. I look forward to seeing your words each week.

Six-Word-Saturday is on the top of my list of MEMES to continue to participate. 🙂 I love compressing my thoughts into one sentence! Even if I sometimes miss a week, I’ll post as often as I can.

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

