Allison's Book Bag

Critter Photo #15

Posted on: August 1, 2016

AwwwMondays-Puppy-AvatarWith our household of critters having expanded to include three cats and a dog, I thought it fitting to join a meme related to pets. After searching around, I came across Awww….. Mondays. The one rule is: “Post a picture that makes you say Awww…. and that’s it.” Every photo seemed to feature a pet and so the meme is a perfect.”We’re home!” I call out as I unlock our front door. My husband falls in step behind me, our solo dog in one hand and his camera in the other. The Cat Trio are all waiting for us. But not in the way I expect.

Andy and I have just returned from a month-long vacation. After my tears had dried from missing my family, my thoughts had turned to our pets. I’d imagined walked in the door and being ambushed with a warm welcome. There would be tail swishes, head butts, and adoring purrs. Or maybe the opposite would happen. Maybe the cats would feel so betrayed by my absence that they’d turn their back on me, hide under the sofa, and refuse to acknowledge me. But there would be a reaction.

Instead the cats politely sniff me. And then start a chorus of plaintive meows. Camera still rolling, We try to recoup the moment. I pick up my most affectionate and shower her with hugs. Andy sticks the camera towards our most curious and rambles a greeting. We hunt down our most reserved. From the stampede to the kitchen, it’s clear what the Cat Trio most want: food. So much for our picturesque moment.

Pet sitters had checked in our cats during our time away. Duties included feeding, cleaning litter, grooming, among other things. Oh, and keeping me updated through email. On the last few days of vacation, I began to get some disturbing notes about the Cat Trio antics. The extent of their misbehavior became clear the moment we ended our greetings. Papers were knocked off the table. Ornaments had fallen from shelves. And dog food was scattered across the floor. My precious angels are
little monsters.

Yet there’s a reason I love them. And it’s not just because we take the bad with the good. As Andy and I lounged in front of the television, our most shy crawled onto my lap. She lay there for well over thirty minutes, as I brushed her thick hair. As I made my rounds of turning off lights, my most solitary initiated a romp around the house. When I caught her, she wrestled with my hands until well past both our bed times. As my head hit my pillow, my most mischievous jumped onto the bed and raced up to me. She immediately wrapped herself around my neck and fell asleep. Ah, welcome home.

Want to start your week off with a smile? Visit Comedy Plus or Burnt Food Dude and see what others are sharing today.

4 Responses to "Critter Photo #15"

Interesting and well-illustrated. Finally your family is reunited!

Thanks! A Barnaby update will come in a couple of weeks. 🙂

What a wonderful welcome home. I’ve missed you this past month. I’m glad you’re home and I know your babies are happy.

Have a purrfect Awww Monday. ☺

Thanks for the welcome back. I’ve missed my fellow bloggers. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

Allisons' Book Bag Logo

Fall 2017

This fall I will be on hiatus except to post family news. Stay tuned!

Categories

Archives

Best Friends Network Partner

Blog Paws

IAABC

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 322 other followers

